14/3 Used As 14/2 What To Do With RED Wire? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-05-2009, 06:07 PM   #1
New House Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sioux Falls, SD
Posts: 141
Rewards Points: 75
Default

14/3 used as 14/2 What to do with RED wire?


This is my last homerun from an electrical outlet into my subpanel (6 feet) and all i have left for wire is some 14/3. What should i do with the extra (red) wire? Can I just cut it out, or do I have to cap it on both ends?

Advertisement

C_J_GO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 06:11 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

14/3 used as 14/2 What to do with RED wire?


Leave it in the box/panel and cap it. NEVER cut a wire completely off. Ya never know when somebody might need it.

Advertisement

220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 07:02 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

14/3 used as 14/2 What to do with RED wire?


Just nut it. Spare wires can be a blessing in the future.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 07:54 PM   #4
Learning by Doing
 
Leah Frances's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Easton, Maryland
Posts: 3,156
Rewards Points: 2,000
Blog Entries: 7
Default

14/3 used as 14/2 What to do with RED wire?


Do yourself and everyone who might work on it in the future a favor. Label it.
__________________
If I could only remember to THINK about what I was doing before I did it.
Leah Frances is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2009, 11:06 PM   #5
Electrician
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Connecticut, Litchfield
Posts: 2,015
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

14/3 used as 14/2 What to do with RED wire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by 220/221 View Post
Leave it in the box/panel and cap it. NEVER cut a wire completely off. Ya never know when somebody might need it.
You sound like a man of experience! Damn that makes me mad!
chris75 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 08:15 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,543
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

14/3 used as 14/2 What to do with RED wire?


I hate it when somebody cuts that important wire off...or when they leave like 1" of length.
rgsgww is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 01:06 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

14/3 used as 14/2 What to do with RED wire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by C_J_GO View Post
This is my last homerun from an electrical outlet into my subpanel (6 feet) and all i have left for wire is some 14/3. What should i do with the extra (red) wire? Can I just cut it out, or do I have to cap it on both ends?
As long as the the circuit is on a 15 amp breaker. Even if you pulled 12/2, then you add this short length of 14/3, it now a 15 amp circuit. All of it.

No, do not cut the red out. Leave it as long as possible, put a wire nut on it and mark it as "Spare".
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2009, 07:39 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 1,205
Rewards Points: 506
Default

14/3 used as 14/2 What to do with RED wire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
As long as the the circuit is on a 15 amp breaker. Even if you pulled 12/2, then you add this short length of 14/3, it now a 15 amp circuit. All of it.

No, do not cut the red out. Leave it as long as possible, put a wire nut on it and mark it as "Spare".
Just what I was thinking. You cannot use the #14 if the branch is more than 15A

FW

Advertisement

__________________

KE2KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM
Installing Pot Lights - 12AWG and 14/2 wire ... help! njchan Electrical 4 04-10-2008 07:50 PM
Using 14/2 wire on 20 amp circuit mohairy Electrical 1 12-29-2007 07:26 AM
2 switches - 14/3 cable scottmatt Electrical 25 12-11-2007 10:24 AM
Ceiling Fan 14/3 or 14/2? jelly Electrical 4 11-18-2007 07:30 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts