14/3 Power Cord In Conduit - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-04-2011, 03:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

14/3 Power Cord in conduit


I want to install a motion light for the steps and walkway on my open front porch. I currently have an outlet under my eave a short distance from the porch location I want to install the light. The outlet is on an indoor switch and was installed by the builder for Xmas lights. I use the outlet from time to time for various power tools in my driveway via an extension cord. I would like to keep the existing outlet, install a weatherproof outlet box, mount a raised 4 inch weatherproof box for my motion light and run a 5 foot 14/3 stranded wire power tool replacement cord from the outlet to the motion light. I am concerned that the power cord should be protected from the elements. Can I safely run the 5 foot power cord from the outlet to the light through 1/2 inch electric conduit? Would it be better to buy a length of weatherproof or underground wire and add a plug? If yes, could you recommend a very good all weather plug? I've had problems in the past with faulty plugs. Using a power cord with a molded 3-prong plug attached would be ideal for me providing it is safe. Thanks in advance!

Advertisement

NotSoElectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 06:01 PM   #2
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

14/3 Power Cord in conduit


You cannot use romex outside, period.

If you are using conduit, then run individual THWN conductors. They sell this at HD/Lowe's.

Advertisement

__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 07:02 PM   #3
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,047
Rewards Points: 2,892
Default

14/3 Power Cord in conduit


Flexible cord cannot be used as a substitute for building wiring. Use THWN conductors in conduit like Andy suggested.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 08:43 PM   #4
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

14/3 Power Cord in conduit


It is a pain in the a$$, but you can use UF in conduit.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 08:46 PM   #5
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

14/3 Power Cord in conduit


I guess I didn't read closely enough...i saw 14/3 and assumed he meant romex. I agree with Jim... You definitely cannot use the cord you are planning to use for building wiring.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 09:02 PM   #6
Member
 
Code05's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Easton MD
Posts: 1,841
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

14/3 Power Cord in conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
I guess I didn't read closely enough...i saw 14/3 and assumed he meant romex. I agree with Jim... You definitely cannot use the cord you are planning to use for building wiring.
Either way, cord or romex won't cut as you said. I was just offering an alternative to single THWN conductors.
Code05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2011, 09:08 PM   #7
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,572
Rewards Points: 2,040
Default

14/3 Power Cord in conduit


Regardless of what kind of wire you use (which can't be flexible cord or romex), you can't plug your light into the receptacle. You need to wire it in. Since there's a receptacle right there, that won't be too difficult.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 09:13 AM   #8
011010100110111101100101
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 244
Rewards Points: 150
Default

14/3 Power Cord in conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
You cannot use romex outside, period.

If you are using conduit, then run individual THWN conductors. They sell this at HD/Lowe's.
When you say Romex, I think you are going to confuse people. Romex, while often used as a trade name for NM, makes all sorts of wire. For example, I have a roll of Romex UF-B that is perfectly acceptable outside, under direct UV light.

While NM-B would not be acceptable.

-- Joe
anesthes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 09:17 AM   #9
011010100110111101100101
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 244
Rewards Points: 150
Default

14/3 Power Cord in conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by NotSoElectric View Post
I want to install a motion light for the steps and walkway on my open front porch. I currently have an outlet under my eave a short distance from the porch location I want to install the light. The outlet is on an indoor switch and was installed by the builder for Xmas lights. I use the outlet from time to time for various power tools in my driveway via an extension cord. I would like to keep the existing outlet, install a weatherproof outlet box, mount a raised 4 inch weatherproof box for my motion light and run a 5 foot 14/3 stranded wire power tool replacement cord from the outlet to the motion light. I am concerned that the power cord should be protected from the elements. Can I safely run the 5 foot power cord from the outlet to the light through 1/2 inch electric conduit? Would it be better to buy a length of weatherproof or underground wire and add a plug? If yes, could you recommend a very good all weather plug? I've had problems in the past with faulty plugs. Using a power cord with a molded 3-prong plug attached would be ideal for me providing it is safe. Thanks in advance!
If you purchase a motion light with a UL listed outdoor cord and plug, you can use it for this application (you wouldn't use the conduit). I must add, the device must also be approved for "current interruption". Otherwise, it is NOT meant to be switched.

If you are intending on purchasing a light assembly mean to be hard wired, you could not wire a cord to it and plug it in.

The difference is the intended use of the device. A weather resistant "assembly complete with cord" versus a product meant to be installed per electrical codes and regulations.

-- Joe

Last edited by anesthes; 09-05-2011 at 09:21 AM.
anesthes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 09:44 AM   #10
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

14/3 Power Cord in conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by anesthes View Post
When you say Romex, I think you are going to confuse people. Romex, while often used as a trade name for NM, makes all sorts of wire. For example, I have a roll of Romex UF-B that is perfectly acceptable outside, under direct UV light.

While NM-B would not be acceptable.

-- Joe
Fair enough, but 99% of the world calls NM-B romex
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-2011, 10:40 AM   #11
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,668
Rewards Points: 2,642
Default

14/3 Power Cord in conduit


Quote:
Originally Posted by anesthes View Post
When you say Romex, I think you are going to confuse people. Romex, while often used as a trade name for NM, makes all sorts of wire. For example, I have a roll of Romex UF-B that is perfectly acceptable outside, under direct UV light.

While NM-B would not be acceptable.

-- Joe
Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
Fair enough, but 99% of the world calls NM-B romex
About like Formica and Coke....trade names but people associate it with a product....

FWIW.....I call it Romex....

Advertisement

__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PVC conduit - custom offset or bending tns1 Electrical 25 08-29-2011 06:56 PM
14 AWG Power Cord for 240V amidaplatt Electrical 6 05-10-2011 03:21 PM
Chicago Conduit Rules Wrigleyville Electrical 6 01-28-2010 07:49 PM
wiring in line light switch on power cord basicbrand Electrical 4 12-08-2009 10:36 AM
Window A/C AC14040C1D new power cord? Leah Frances Appliances 1 06-21-2008 10:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts