Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-20-2013, 08:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Jackson nj
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

14/3 into 1 receptacle?


hi I was in my garage and I put a tester into and never used old receptacle
it reads as open ground so I turned off the breaker and pulled a receptacle out
I have a black hot which was connected a white neutral was connected and a ground connected
a red which actually remains hot is connected to nothing,
I was thinking of capping the whole thing off.
but again this is only 1 wire entering the box 14 gauge 3 wire black red white ground
and the red is just happily sitting in the box hanging out doing nothing(hot).
When I capped the red and with a new receptacle, it test 2 yellows, which is what I want


Last edited by mikedabike64; 01-20-2013 at 08:32 PM. Reason: poor spelling
mikedabike64 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mikedabike64 For This Useful Post:
fltdek (01-21-2013)
Old 01-21-2013, 07:06 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,906
Rewards Points: 0
Default

14/3 into 1 receptacle?


Where is the red wire connected in your panel? If opening the breaker for the receptacle doesn't kill it, it's definitely connected to a different breaker somewhere. It' possible whoever wired the receptacle intended to have each half on a separate circuit. It's also possible they just didn't know what they were doing. I don't know what code says about this, but I'd disconnect the red wire in the panel and cap it there too. That would clearly tell some future homeowner that it's not being used.


Last edited by md2lgyk; 01-21-2013 at 07:11 AM.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 10:57 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Jackson nj
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 0
Default

14/3 into 1 receptacle?


Thank you so very much, Iam still learning, I will trace it back.
whoever did it had feet hot to silver which is wrong and the white to brass.
much obliged on info
mikedabike64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 01:43 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: WV
Posts: 2,906
Rewards Points: 0
Default

14/3 into 1 receptacle?


You're welcome. Connecting the hot and neutral to the wrong slots is a common mistake made by people who don't know what they're doing. Obviously the receptacle will still work, but it is not safe.
md2lgyk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 02:28 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,946
Rewards Points: 0
Default

14/3 into 1 receptacle?


The live red wire can remain capped off (or taped over) in the box.

If it goes directly back to the panel it may only be connected to a breaker positioned so as to have 240 volts between it and the breaker for the black wire, and with a handle tie bar so that if either of the two breakers mentioned should trip, the other one is flipped off.

Another possibility is that the red wire goes to a switch whose feed also feeds the black wire.

Because both the red and black share the same neutral, both must accompany the neutral upstream
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 09:31 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Jackson nj
Posts: 21
Rewards Points: 0
Default

14/3 into 1 receptacle?


I appreciate all the help and I thank you all very much

mikedabike64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Unusual Receptacle Wiring Avanzi Electrical 5 01-20-2013 08:20 AM
Adding GFCI receptacle outdoors Dale Gribble Electrical 2 03-21-2012 01:18 PM
Replacing receptacle with GFCI wiring problem braden Electrical 8 04-06-2011 08:32 AM
low voltage reading at receptacle 2 ball cane Electrical 5 04-06-2011 12:07 AM
2 switches - 14/3 cable scottmatt Electrical 25 12-11-2007 09:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.