Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-06-2014, 08:14 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

14.3 to 14.2 adding two outlets...now everything is hot


I need help bad... I split a 14.3 line already running to a switch( I think) put in a junction box. I want to add two outlets going in different directions from the junction box and am using 14.2 out of the junction box. I connected all 4 black, all 4 whites, all 4 grounds, and the two reds....The outlets are hot. Unfortunately the lights before the junction box have a low flow and are lighted. There is a switch for the lights, and i believe a second switch that operates the lights however it is not working.(maybe a bad switch). Should I have put one of the reds to one of the outlets? and black to the other? Or should I cap the red? OMG...I am so lost here.. Anyone have any words of wisdom?

Jenni88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 08:37 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 2,039
Rewards Points: 10
Default

14.3 to 14.2 adding two outlets...now everything is hot


yep. Call in an electrician. Unless that was a multi-branch circuit, you can't do it.
Was the original switch a 3-way (one of two switches controlling a light)?

bob22 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 08:41 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 2,039
Rewards Points: 10
Default

14.3 to 14.2 adding two outlets...now everything is hot


deleted

Last edited by bob22; 09-06-2014 at 08:42 AM. Reason: dupe
bob22 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 08:51 AM   #4
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,012
Rewards Points: 2
Default

14.3 to 14.2 adding two outlets...now everything is hot


Jenni

It sounds like you located your junction box between two 3 way switches that control the lights. This will not work.

You need a constant power source with a neutral and you have your junction box and outlets connected to a switched power source in that 14/3 cable.

How hard would it be to connect to the constant power feeding the 3 way switch circuit ?

Are there any other receptacles close by that you could get contant power from?

If you could post some pictures of the two 3 way switches with the box covers removed and the switches pulled out with the wires still attached we might be able to help you. Or let us know if there is a receptacle close to the area your working.

Remember to always have the circuit breaker off to what your working on. You need to know how to use a voltage tester. Your skill level suggests it would be best if you have someone knowledgeable help you with your project.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 09-06-2014 at 08:55 AM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 08:58 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Default

14.3 to 14.2 adding two outlets...now everything is hot


Yes, but I didn't know it at the time...Have just figured out that the switch that didn't control anything was part of it...
Jenni88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 09:04 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Default

14.3 to 14.2 adding two outlets...now everything is hot


OK...so can I disconnect everything and put it back the way it was and the lights will work correctly? Then find another source for the outlets?
Jenni88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 09:06 AM   #7
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,012
Rewards Points: 2
Default

14.3 to 14.2 adding two outlets...now everything is hot


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jenni88 View Post
OK...so can I disconnect everything and put it back the way it was and the lights will work correctly? Then find another source for the outlets?
Yes you can. But the junction box will be required to be accessible

You said that one of the switches didn't do anything? did you mean it was the one you referenced earlier that stopped working after you put in the junction box ?
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 09:18 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Default

14.3 to 14.2 adding two outlets...now everything is hot


no...it didn't stop working after I connected the junction box....it has never worked...or we never figured out what it was for, so maybe the switch has been bad all along. I will put a new switch in and see if that is the problem....after I reconnect the splice in the junction box...then I will find another source to run the outlets off....Thank you for all your help...and yes, I disconnected the breakers and know how to use a multimeter to check for power...don't like shocks, death, or the house burning down...
Jenni88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2014, 02:28 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 0
Default

14.3 to 14.2 adding two outlets...now everything is hot


Ok so now I want to run the two outlets off another outlet....how should I do that?

Jenni88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding 2 outlets in the middle of a series of outlets - wiring question Evan55 Electrical 7 06-14-2012 09:43 AM
Changed Outlets...Lights stay on... agentphish Electrical 4 03-29-2012 09:02 AM
Need to rewire outlets and lights..HELP suboveryde Electrical 1 11-02-2010 06:19 PM
adding new outside outlets, lights etc walt1122 Electrical 8 08-23-2007 02:11 PM
Adding outlets behind bathroom vanity? Carwen Electrical 3 08-14-2005 09:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.