Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-01-2008, 10:33 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Default

14-3 or 12-3 for smoke detectors?


Hi,
I'm doing a renovation, and the building department wants me to put hard wired smoke detectors in the house. I'm planning on feeding the smokes from the master bedroom light circuit. The MB light circuit is 12-2 and on a 20-amp breaker. Does this mean I need to use the same guage wire for the smokes if I want it to stay a 20-amp circuit? 12-3 just seems like a bit overkill for the smokes...

Thanks!

red86yota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 10:38 AM   #2
DIYer
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Virginia
Posts: 910
Rewards Points: 500
Default

14-3 or 12-3 for smoke detectors?


Quote:
Originally Posted by red86yota View Post
Does this mean I need to use the same guage wire for the smokes if I want it to stay a 20-amp circuit?
Yes, it does.

The overcurrent protection is for 12 gauge wire, if you put 14 in there it will not be properly protected.

Gigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 10:39 AM   #3
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

14-3 or 12-3 for smoke detectors?


Quote:
Originally Posted by red86yota View Post
Hi,
I'm doing a renovation, and the building department wants me to put hard wired smoke detectors in the house. I'm planning on feeding the smokes from the master bedroom light circuit. The MB light circuit is 12-2 and on a 20-amp breaker. Does this mean I need to use the same guage wire for the smokes if I want it to stay a 20-amp circuit? 12-3 just seems like a bit overkill for the smokes...

Thanks!
Is it permissible to put the smokes on the circuit with the lights in the first place?

If so, then yes, you must use the same wire size as the circuit, that is, #12. If you want to use #14, then you must change the breaker to a 15 amp.
InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 11:22 AM   #4
J Calvin Construction
 
jcalvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 184
Rewards Points: 150
Default

14-3 or 12-3 for smoke detectors?


Use 12 on everything. Nothing more aggrivating than having to keep up with the extra roll of wire and breakers. In almost every home I have been a part of, the owner has wanted to add something at the end of the project. It has worked out well for me having the extra ampacity to splice into an existing circuit and not be near overloaded.
__________________
Cal

You hired WHO?
jcalvin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 12:01 PM   #5
When is fishing season?
 
CowboyAndy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 613
Rewards Points: 500
Default

14-3 or 12-3 for smoke detectors?


Quote:
Originally Posted by red86yota View Post
Hi,
I'm doing a renovation, and the building department wants me to put hard wired smoke detectors in the house. I'm planning on feeding the smokes from the master bedroom light circuit. The MB light circuit is 12-2 and on a 20-amp breaker. Does this mean I need to use the same guage wire for the smokes if I want it to stay a 20-amp circuit? 12-3 just seems like a bit overkill for the smokes...

Thanks!
While you are adding them, you may want to make them combination smoke/co detectors... worth the few extra bucks.

Just make sure that if you are adding multiple interconnected smokes they are all the same brand. dissimilar brands can cause false alarms.
__________________
I DON'T OWN MY HOUSE...
MY HOUSE OWNS ME!
CowboyAndy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 12:58 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Default

14-3 or 12-3 for smoke detectors?


thanks for the advice and replies.

I was leaning towards getting a CO / Smoke detector for the basement....I guess I'll take a look at the prices and see how much more it would be to do the other locations as well. We have a small house, only 5 detectors total....

And I read somewhere that it was suggested to put the smokes and MB lights on the same circuit so that you would be more likely to know if the smokes CB was tripped... I'm trying to get ahold of my elec inspector to verify, but they aren't the easiest to get ahold of.

thanks again
red86yota is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 01:04 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Apple Valley, MN, USA
Posts: 1,000
Rewards Points: 502
Send a message via AIM to theatretch85
Default

14-3 or 12-3 for smoke detectors?


If it isn't too much work, you could always run a new circuit just for the smokes and the master bedroom light, keeping the bedroom outlets on the current 20 amp circuit. This way you could run 14 guage wire for everything and still have a light on the circuit to indicate if the breaker has been tripped. You don't need to worry about the existing 12 gauge wiring run to the master bedroom light, just remove all the wiring for the outlets in the room and put this in a new junction box (since I am assuming most of the outlets are wired out of the light box in the ceiling). Its 'Ok' to have 12 guage wire on a 15 amp circuit, but its not ok for 14 gauge wire on a 20 amp circuit.
theatretch85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2008, 02:56 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 95
Rewards Points: 75
Default

14-3 or 12-3 for smoke detectors?


my inspector called me back, and they require the smokes to be on a dedicated AFCI circuit. This can be 15-Amp, so the 14-3 will suffice.

thanks for the comments

red86yota is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard wire 2 smoke detectors together tstorzuk Electrical 4 07-27-2008 05:59 PM
Smoke detectors JohnJ0906 Electrical 1 07-27-2008 08:34 AM
NEC code and Smoke Detectors diverdaveman Electrical 10 07-23-2007 07:27 AM
Wired Smoke Detectors? bjstewa Electrical 2 05-09-2007 08:20 AM
dedicated circuit for smoke detectors wiggs Electrical 11 04-24-2006 08:25 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.