Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-03-2012, 10:20 AM   #46
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,670
Share |
Default

is 14/2 ok for fridge ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by notmrjohn
" I'll be an expert too"
But you're already an "inspector" is it possible to be both?

Besides the Mouse is over 10,000 but he's still a rodent.

What with all this "required" or maybe not, 20 amp for small appliances, bell wire for garbage compressors, and 6 feet tall outlets , and dedicated water lines, and GFCI's on garage door opener remote, and havin to put 20A plugs and #8 wire on our desk lamps, I think the "experts" who are writing and/or interpreting the codes are drinkin more than 20A PM beer.
Thanks for the laugh!

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 11:35 AM   #47
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 54
Default

is 14/2 ok for fridge ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by electures View Post
There is no requirement to continually update an electrical system everytime the NEC changes. If it was safe when it was installed, it is still safe today. I built my house 27 years ago and wired it under the 1984 NEC and there is nothing unsafe in it. There is no need to update anything for the sake of "keeping it up to code".

WOW! Post number 900. 6300 more and I'll be an expert too!!
I do understand that house wiring doesn't need to be updated to code but not having a GFCI outlet next to the sink doesn't sound safe to me. Also when I say 'not done to code" I mainly mean it wasn't done to ANY code, ie if an inspector had actually been called in to check it wouldn't have passed in the first place. That's the kind of stuff Im 'updating'.

*edit* and yes I am aware of what a GFCI outlet actually is designed to do and what it doesnt do
OCPik4chu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 12:20 PM   #48
Bombastic Idiot
 
notmrjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Mesquite, Texas
Posts: 761
Default

is 14/2 ok for fridge ?


" a GFCI outlet next to the sink doesn't sound safe" safer than non protected, but safer to keep any a few feet away. Garbage disposal, dishwasher outlets are usually below sink, probably directly under dripping faucet. Put a drip loop on the cord.
__________________
Measure twice, cut once.
Look at the nail, not the hammer. Watch the fence, not the blade.
If you hook your thumb over your belt you won't hit it with the hammer or leave it layin on the saw table.
notmrjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 12:27 PM   #49
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 54
Default

is 14/2 ok for fridge ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by notmrjohn View Post
" a GFCI outlet next to the sink doesn't sound safe" safer than non protected, but safer to keep any a few feet away. Garbage disposal, dishwasher outlets are usually below sink, probably directly under dripping faucet. Put a drip loop on the cord.
Sorry, I think you misread. I said not having a GFCI outlet next to a sink didn't sound safe. Kind of bad grammar on my part lol.

The dishwasher is hardwired in afaik. disposal was in violation when I was buying the house, made seller hire electrician to fix it. Its also plugged into a GFCI outlet under the sink and has a drip loop in it. Sink, back splash and counter top were also re-caulked.
OCPik4chu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 12:41 PM   #50
Bombastic Idiot
 
notmrjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Mesquite, Texas
Posts: 761
Default

is 14/2 ok for fridge ?


O I C, OC, you meant not not having not not having. Sorta like, its not a given that people who are not notmrjohn are not mrjohn and people who are not mrjohn are not notmrjohn. This thread is getting knottier by the minute, not naughtier, but nottier and knottier. I hope it is not all for naught.
__________________
Measure twice, cut once.
Look at the nail, not the hammer. Watch the fence, not the blade.
If you hook your thumb over your belt you won't hit it with the hammer or leave it layin on the saw table.
notmrjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 12:42 PM   #51
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 54
Default

is 14/2 ok for fridge ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by notmrjohn View Post
O I C, OC, you meant not not having not not having. Sorta like, its not a given that people who are not notmrjohn are not mrjohn and people who are not mrjohn are not notmrjohn. This thread is getting knottier by the minute, not naughtier, but nottier and knottier.
Exactly
OCPik4chu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2012, 09:41 AM   #52
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,756
Default

is 14/2 ok for fridge ?


update

the house is still standing

i just found out that the fridge uses 5.2 amps.

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Fix'n it For This Useful Post:
electures (11-27-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
20 amp circuit using 14/2 wire? Overloaded beachfront71 Electrical 10 03-29-2012 07:37 AM
Mixing 14/2 and 12/2 wire on one circuit? dekohl Electrical 12 03-13-2012 07:19 AM
Attic wiring - ceiling lighting uses 14/2 cable without ground darlingm Electrical 3 11-29-2011 09:01 AM
Wire Choice 12/2 or 14/2 Pentium Electrical 13 05-05-2011 03:33 PM
Wire a 4-way light circuit with 14/2 HooKooDooKu Electrical 22 01-28-2010 02:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.