Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-01-2012, 09:40 AM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,651
Share |
Default

is 14/2 ok for fridge ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave632 View Post

By the way, fix'n, how did you fit the fork lift into your kitchen to position that monster?
lol, it was delivered and installed. they had to take it apart to get it in.
i gave em a $20 tip.

this is a darned nice fridge. we got the micro and stove also. no dish washer yet, as there is no spot for it.

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 10:02 AM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Western PA
Posts: 203
Default

is 14/2 ok for fridge ?


FYI, I checked my 21 cu ft fridge, about 8-10 yrs old. Found the current rating on a sticker inside the refrigerator compartment. It says "4.5A", so just scaling volumes yours is probably somewhere around 7 amps.
Dave632 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Dave632 For This Useful Post:
mysterd429 (10-02-2012)
Old 10-01-2012, 10:14 AM   #33
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

is 14/2 ok for fridge ?


Just my 2 cents here, when I wired my kitchen, I was required to have all outlets on GFCI and 20 amps.
I only have 2 circuits, one for fridge and 2 outlets and the rest (4 outlets and the one for our propane oven).

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 10:35 AM   #34
Bombastic Idiot
 
notmrjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Mesquite, Texas
Posts: 761
Default

is 14/2 ok for fridge ?


" how did you fit the fork lift into your kitchen to position that monster?"

You got that right. When wife bought our monster. I got E manual, to get size and clearance for built in cubby. First page of installation book was how to take handles and doors off reefer so you could get it thru door into house. Luckily we got French doors in back. When I saw that four guys were wrestling the thing, I had um take a break while I made an extended "track" from 1X's on floor so it could slide into position. No way were we gonna be able to line it up once it was in there. If I'da thought, I'da left end off cabinet. Now I wish I'd devised some kinda detachable end. Just in case I gotta get it out.

Haven't laid floor yet, it may extend just barely under lower trim of behemoth, or mite hire gorilla or rent weight lifter with long skinny arms. Of course with extra long 12 gauge wire connection, I can just toss a loop of it over top and pull it out with 20 amp winch. Told ya it was "better." .

" where it states power consumption." I found it, gimmee a cigar, page 10 http://www.ajmadison.com/ajmadison/i...62184416-E.pdf
"its own individual properly grounded electrical outlet rated for 115 Volts, 60 Hz, AC only, and fused at 15 or 20 amperes."


On page 4 it sez, "Do not put live animals inside of the refrigerator." I guess they'll eat all your food or scratch up the enterior or somethin'. But now where is the dog gonna sleep? This could be ploy by wives contacting manufacturers. Mrsnot, for some reason,gets all upset when she thinks she's opening cottage cheese and finds my fishin worms instead.
__________________
Measure twice, cut once.
Look at the nail, not the hammer. Watch the fence, not the blade.
If you hook your thumb over your belt you won't hit it with the hammer or leave it layin on the saw table.

Last edited by notmrjohn; 10-01-2012 at 04:30 PM.
notmrjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 10:51 AM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Western PA
Posts: 203
Default

is 14/2 ok for fridge ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by notmrjohn View Post
" how did you fit the fork lift into your kitchen to position that monster?"

You got that right. When wife bought our monster. I got E manual, to get size and clearance for built in cubby. First page of installation book was how to take handles and doors off reefer so you could get it thru door into house.
Another thought. I might consider doubling the floor joists in that section of the kitchen.
Dave632 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 04:38 PM   #36
Bombastic Idiot
 
notmrjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Mesquite, Texas
Posts: 761
Default

is 14/2 ok for fridge ?


"required to have all outlets on GFCI and 20 amps." Looks like some codes are being changed. I'm seeing sites that are saying 20A is required for everything except lighting circuits. 2 cents, 2 circuits. I guess if the lights go out, you can open the fridge, just don't let that animal out.

GFCI, but there's that thread where the guy couldn't get older reefer to run in garage, where GFCI's were required. Kept tripping it, plugged into garage door opener, it worked fine.

" doubling the floor joists" I guess slab foundation isn't such bad idea as I thot. Only trouble is, the whole house is tilting, and I keep falling out of bed. All my marbles have rolled into kitchen behind fridge.
__________________
Measure twice, cut once.
Look at the nail, not the hammer. Watch the fence, not the blade.
If you hook your thumb over your belt you won't hit it with the hammer or leave it layin on the saw table.
notmrjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 04:42 PM   #37
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 54
Default

is 14/2 ok for fridge ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by notmrjohn View Post
"required to have all outlets on GFCI and 20 amps." Looks like some codes are being changed. I'm seeing sites that are saying 20A is required for everything except lighting circuits. 2 cents, 2 circuits. I guess if the lights go out, you can open the fridge, just don't let that animal out.

GFCI, but there's that thread where the guy couldn't get older reefer to run in garage, where GFCI's were required. Kept tripping it, plugged into garage door opener, it worked fine.

" doubling the floor joists" I guess slab foundation isn't such bad idea as I thot. Only trouble is, the whole house is tilting, and I keep falling out of bed. All my marbles have rolled into kitchen behind fridge.
Just move the fridge to the other side of the house to balance out the tilting

I redid the outlets in my kitchen recently because NONE of them were GFCI. When we looked up the code to verify it said something like only outlets that were within 6ft of a water source required it. I havent had anyone tell me GFCI is required in the entire kitchen yet so maybe its something that varies by area?
OCPik4chu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 04:51 PM   #38
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

is 14/2 ok for fridge ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by notmrjohn View Post

but there's that thread where the guy couldn't get older reefer to run in garage, where GFCI's were required. Kept tripping it, plugged into garage door opener, it worked fine.
Yeah, and every time his wife's or kid's cars came or left, the fridge door opened and he had an excuse to go out to the garage and have a beer while closing the door.

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DangerMouse For This Useful Post:
COLDIRON (10-01-2012)
Old 10-01-2012, 05:59 PM   #39
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,743
Default

is 14/2 ok for fridge ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by OCPik4chu View Post
Just move the fridge to the other side of the house to balance out the tilting

I redid the outlets in my kitchen recently because NONE of them were GFCI. When we looked up the code to verify it said something like only outlets that were within 6ft of a water source required it. I havent had anyone tell me GFCI is required in the entire kitchen yet so maybe its something that varies by area?
The 6 foot rule was eliminated many years ago fro the kitchen area.
The code now states that all counter top receptacles be gfci protected.
The new 6' rule applies to laundry rooms and laundry sinks.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
Jim Port (10-01-2012), mysterd429 (10-02-2012)
Old 10-01-2012, 06:01 PM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 54
Default

is 14/2 ok for fridge ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
The 6 foot rule was eliminated many years ago fro the kitchen area.
The code now states that all counter top receptacles be gfci protected.
The new 6' rule applies to laundry rooms and laundry sinks.
Interesting, guess that means I have an island countertop outlet that needs to be a GFCI instead.

I figured I would need to replace the outlet near the washer with a GFCI, we dont use the outlet for anything so thats why I hadnt done it yet. Thanks for the info.
OCPik4chu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 07:28 PM   #41
Bombastic Idiot
 
notmrjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Mesquite, Texas
Posts: 761
Default

is 14/2 ok for fridge ?


"The 6 foot rule was eliminated many years ago" unfortunately nobody told the college football refs that.

OC, just set your 25' tape measure on island, it out ranks 6 foot rule.

"Just move the fridge to the other side of the house" and have all those marbles come rolling into the bed room keeping me awake all night? Besides my hired gorilla and fixin's delivery man eloped on dave's forklift. Back into the driveway, mouse, I need a beer, none of that lite stuff make it a 20 amp.
__________________
Measure twice, cut once.
Look at the nail, not the hammer. Watch the fence, not the blade.
If you hook your thumb over your belt you won't hit it with the hammer or leave it layin on the saw table.
notmrjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 07:39 PM   #42
the Musigician
 
DangerMouse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: I'm right here!
Posts: 10,404
Default

is 14/2 ok for fridge ?


I just PM'd you a 20 amp beer.... *Enjoy!*

DM
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Click here to see some of my original magic tricks and trick boxes!
DangerMouse is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DangerMouse For This Useful Post:
electures (10-03-2012)
Old 10-02-2012, 11:48 AM   #43
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 54
Default

is 14/2 ok for fridge ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by notmrjohn View Post
"The 6 foot rule was eliminated many years ago" unfortunately nobody told the college football refs that.

OC, just set your 25' tape measure on island, it out ranks 6 foot rule.

"Just move the fridge to the other side of the house" and have all those marbles come rolling into the bed room keeping me awake all night? Besides my hired gorilla and fixin's delivery man eloped on dave's forklift. Back into the driveway, mouse, I need a beer, none of that lite stuff make it a 20 amp.
Its a small kitchen, the island is barely <8' from the sink, outlet being maybe 9-10' There is plenty of things in this house that were not done to code, or were back then and is now completely wrong, lol.

And my fridge actually is on its own 15amp breaker. Ive checked
OCPik4chu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 09:34 AM   #44
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,666
Default

is 14/2 ok for fridge ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by OCPik4chu View Post
Its a small kitchen, the island is barely <8' from the sink, outlet being maybe 9-10' There is plenty of things in this house that were not done to code, or were back then and is now completely wrong, lol.

And my fridge actually is on its own 15amp breaker. Ive checked
There is no requirement to continually update an electrical system everytime the NEC changes. If it was safe when it was installed, it is still safe today. I built my house 27 years ago and wired it under the 1984 NEC and there is nothing unsafe in it. There is no need to update anything for the sake of "keeping it up to code".

WOW! Post number 900. 6300 more and I'll be an expert too!!
__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 09:57 AM   #45
Bombastic Idiot
 
notmrjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Mesquite, Texas
Posts: 761
Default

is 14/2 ok for fridge ?


" I'll be an expert too"
But you're already an "inspector" is it possible to be both?

Besides the Mouse is over 10,000 but he's still a rodent.

What with all this "required" or maybe not, 20 amp for small appliances, bell wire for garbage compressors, and 6 feet tall outlets , and dedicated water lines, and GFCI's on garage door opener remote, and havin to put 20A plugs and #8 wire on our desk lamps, I think the "experts" who are writing and/or interpreting the codes are drinkin more than 20A PM beer.

__________________
Measure twice, cut once.
Look at the nail, not the hammer. Watch the fence, not the blade.
If you hook your thumb over your belt you won't hit it with the hammer or leave it layin on the saw table.
notmrjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to notmrjohn For This Useful Post:
electures (10-03-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
20 amp circuit using 14/2 wire? Overloaded beachfront71 Electrical 10 03-29-2012 07:37 AM
Mixing 14/2 and 12/2 wire on one circuit? dekohl Electrical 12 03-13-2012 07:19 AM
Attic wiring - ceiling lighting uses 14/2 cable without ground darlingm Electrical 3 11-29-2011 09:01 AM
Wire Choice 12/2 or 14/2 Pentium Electrical 13 05-05-2011 03:33 PM
Wire a 4-way light circuit with 14/2 HooKooDooKu Electrical 22 01-28-2010 02:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.