14-2 Branch Off 12-2 On 20A Breaker - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-08-2012, 09:14 PM   #1
Fire Hazard
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

14-2 branch off 12-2 on 20A Breaker


I have 12-2 romex coming into my garage to feed a door opener, an outlet and a light (on 20A breaker).

However, the line from the junction box to the light is 14-2. There is no receptacle or anything at that light - it's just a light. Is this allowed?

On the one hand, it's 14-2 on a 20A breaker, which is against code. On the other hand, it's just a light and isn't carrying much current/load. I'm hoping the use of 14-2 is allowed for cases like this.

- Mike

Advertisement

Superchunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 09:17 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,962
Rewards Points: 2,320
Default

14-2 branch off 12-2 on 20A Breaker


Against code, so needs to be replaced.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 10:13 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 777
Rewards Points: 500
Default

14-2 branch off 12-2 on 20A Breaker


Weird thing with lights is that you often end up with fixtures that use 18AWG stranded wire. Why is this allowed but a 14/2 on a 20AMP circuit to a light is not? I can only assume the reasoning is that someone can alter what is at the end of that 14/2.
n0c7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 10:38 PM   #4
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,343
Rewards Points: 2,006
Default

14-2 branch off 12-2 on 20A Breaker


or extend it.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 08:39 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Western PA
Posts: 203
Rewards Points: 150
Default

14-2 branch off 12-2 on 20A Breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by Superchunk View Post
...

On the one hand, it's 14-2 on a 20A breaker, which is against code. On the other hand, it's just a light and isn't carrying much current/load. I'm hoping the use of 14-2 is allowed for cases like this.

- Mike
Much code is written to account for situations where something goes wrong, rather than when things are going as designed/intended.

Suppose someone inadvertently drives a nail through that 14-2 cable, creating a fault that draws... oh.... 19.5 amps. That won't trip the breaker, but that exceeds the safe capacity of #14 wire. The wire will get warm, and maybe even hot enough to ignite something. Maybe not in your garage, but in the wall cavity of someone who has some really dry furring strips.
Dave632 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 08:52 AM   #6
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,017
Rewards Points: 2,832
Default

14-2 branch off 12-2 on 20A Breaker


The insulation on the fixture wires is different from the type used on building wires. This allows for a higher ampacity rating. The fixture load is also a known value.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 09:05 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

14-2 branch off 12-2 on 20A Breaker


Do nyou really need the 20 amp breaker?
If not substitute a 15 amper .

Advertisement

zeke11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Added new breaker, no garage lights now. lum1nes Electrical 8 08-04-2012 08:50 PM
breaker keeps tripping RMCarner Electrical 29 07-22-2012 10:53 AM
Tripping breakers,neutrals,120 volts and 240 volts OH My!!! Stubbie Electrical 17 06-11-2011 07:09 AM
How to wire three switches on one circuit Abs777 Electrical 12 03-25-2010 04:15 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 06:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts