14-2 Or 12-2? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-03-2012, 06:19 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

14-2 or 12-2?


I am adding 4 convenience outlets to my garage. It only has one on each side wall now, and I want to have three on each side. What size is the correct wire size?

Advertisement

rpallison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 06:22 PM   #2
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

14-2 or 12-2?


Garage 12-gauge 20 amp circuit. Remember that you will have to have a GFI in the circuit.

Advertisement

__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 06:39 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: North and East Texas
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 105
Default

14-2 or 12-2?


+1 .....14 AWG is for lighting
Daltex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 07:57 PM   #4
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,162
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

14-2 or 12-2?


Either or is correct, as long as the breaker matches the wire size run.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
electures (10-04-2012), jbfan (10-03-2012)
Old 10-03-2012, 09:09 PM   #5
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

14-2 or 12-2?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
Either or is correct, as long as the breaker matches the wire size run.
Yes either is correct, but if you are going through the trouble of pulling wire for a new circuit especially in a garage then use 12 ga on a 20 amp circuit as there is a higher likelyhood in a garage for high amperage requirements, such as a compressor, table saw,,,etc....

Mark
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 09:13 PM   #6
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,162
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

14-2 or 12-2?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jackofall1 View Post
Yes either is correct, but if you are going through the trouble of pulling wire for a new circuit especially in a garage then use 12 ga on a 20 amp circuit as there is a higher likelyhood in a garage for high amperage requirements, such as a compressor, table saw,,,etc....

Mark
You realize 12 AWG is only 600 watts more capacity, and I have never seen a 20 amp cord on any standard appliance.


meaning... its probably just a waste of money to run # 12... because if you are using two appliances, they will trip a 15 and a 20 respectfully.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 09:30 PM   #7
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

14-2 or 12-2?


Quote:
Originally Posted by stickboy1375 View Post
You realize 12 AWG is only 600 watts more capacity, and I have never seen a 20 amp cord on any standard appliance.


meaning... its probably just a waste of money to run # 12... because if you are using two appliances, they will trip a 15 and a 20 respectfully.
Yes I realize this, let me ask you if you were running a new circuit to your garage what would you use, I know I would use a minimum of a 20 amp circuit.
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 10:07 PM   #8
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,651
Rewards Points: 2,616
Default

14-2 or 12-2?


If your going to go through the trouble of running wire....why not go 12/2....labor is the same...cost difference minimal....and it means you can actually put something that needs 20a on it.

Actually....if it was me....I would be running additional ckts....a garage can never have too much power.....
__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 10:32 PM   #9
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 5,162
Rewards Points: 2,116
Default

14-2 or 12-2?


Exactly... Two 15 amp circuits trumps one 20 amp circuit every time.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to stickboy1375 For This Useful Post:
electures (10-04-2012)
Old 10-03-2012, 10:48 PM   #10
Civil Engineer
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Boston
Posts: 4,299
Rewards Points: 2,176
Default

14-2 or 12-2?


I have to agree with the 12/2 posts for a garage. There are a number of heavy duty tools like an air compressor that may overtax a 15A circuit, so two 15A circuits doesn't cut it. I ran all 12 gage in my house, if you buy it in large rolls (250 feet) it isn't much different in price than 14 gage, it isn't much harder to work with, and you can run larger individual devices on it. Course then you need a 20A GFI, which costs a few dollars more than a 15A GFI.
Daniel Holzman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 06:54 AM   #11
Resi EC
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Kansas
Posts: 479
Rewards Points: 250
Default

14-2 or 12-2?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Holzman View Post
I have to agree with the 12/2 posts for a garage. There are a number of heavy duty tools like an air compressor that may overtax a 15A circuit, so two 15A circuits doesn't cut it. I ran all 12 gage in my house, if you buy it in large rolls (250 feet) it isn't much different in price than 14 gage, it isn't much harder to work with, and you can run larger individual devices on it. Course then you need a 20A GFI, which costs a few dollars more than a 15A GFI.
Wow, really? Don't think I would trust 12-2 for the range, dryer, or A/C.

Wire comes in different gages for a reason, have you ever checked the amperage on one of your almighty 12-2 lighting circuits?

If I were to guess, I'd say 6a or less on most of them, seems like a waist for 12-2, on a 20a circuit.

Not saying, just saying

Advertisement

Gac66610 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gac66610 For This Useful Post:
stickboy1375 (10-04-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts