Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-23-2012, 05:24 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 29
Share |
Default

12v battery to operate 120vdc motor?


I have a 120vdc treadmill motor that has a motor controller board and a transformer to operate it. My question is is there any way to rigg it up to a 12v deep cycle battery. I was thinking all i would need is some sort of step up transformer 9-1 if they make it or 10-1. I would aslo like to have speed control which i assume would work through lowering the voltage. It runs fine off the 12v batter just not near the rpms i need. I know it will drain the deep cycle very fast but im not worried about that.

kevin07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 05:27 PM   #2
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 6,756
Default

12v battery to operate 120vdc motor?


Step up/down transformers only work with AC, not DC.

Never could understand the need for treadmills.....running on the sidewalk if free....

__________________
"The dream is free but the hustle is sold separately."

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ddawg16 For This Useful Post:
kevin07 (04-23-2012)
Old 04-23-2012, 05:46 PM   #3
Just a DIY guy
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 297
Default

12v battery to operate 120vdc motor?


Quote:
Originally Posted by ddawg16 View Post
Step up/down transformers only work with AC, not DC.

Never could understand the need for treadmills.....running on the sidewalk if free....
sidewalks are hard, can't watch TV on the sidewalk, and god forbid there might be some weather outside (not in our neighborhoods, but maybe elsewhere).


Last edited by M3 Pete; 04-23-2012 at 05:54 PM.
M3 Pete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 07:56 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,305
Default

12v battery to operate 120vdc motor?


The eaisest way is to use a 12v to 120v invertor !
They are readily available,
And it is the safest way to do it,
As no modifing is needed.
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 07:58 PM   #5
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,520
Default

12v battery to operate 120vdc motor?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin07 View Post
I have a 120vdc treadmill motor that has a motor controller board and a transformer to operate it. My question is is there any way to rigg it up to a 12v deep cycle battery. I was thinking all i would need is some sort of step up transformer 9-1 if they make it or 10-1. I would aslo like to have speed control which i assume would work through lowering the voltage. It runs fine off the 12v batter just not near the rpms i need. I know it will drain the deep cycle very fast but im not worried about that.
None of that will work the way you want it to. What are you trying to accomplish? Why not use a 12V motor?
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 08:03 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 513
Default

12v battery to operate 120vdc motor?


Quote:
Originally Posted by M3 Pete
sidewalks are hard, can't watch TV on the sidewalk, and god forbid there might be some weather outside (not in our neighborhoods, but maybe elsewhere).

Never could understand running... Unless someone is chasing you with a pistol of course...
Evstarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 08:25 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 29
Default

12v battery to operate 120vdc motor?


my buddy fishes bass tonaments and they are electric only. outboard electric motors cost a lot! im trying to get the treadmill motor to work with a pulley and a custom built drive so he can beat boats to the good spots.
kevin07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 08:28 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 29
Default

12v battery to operate 120vdc motor?


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
The eaisest way is to use a 12v to 120v invertor !
They are readily available,
And it is the safest way to do it,
As no modifing is needed.
Do you mean 12vdc to 120vdc or do you mean to 120vac because if its ac i believe a treadmill pulls around 12 amps and it would have to be a 2000 watt inverter and that would be pricy trying to make it work with the lowest possible cost. There may be some cheap one though ill have to look around.

Last edited by kevin07; 04-23-2012 at 08:36 PM.
kevin07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 09:22 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 5
Smile

12v battery to operate 120vdc motor?


The inverter idea is probably the best, but if the motor actually runs from 12VDC, then it must be a brush motor, not an induction motor. In that case multiple battery's in series would give you more speed. Speed control could be accomplished thru a controller like used for electric bikes or golf carts (would need to be sized for load) one source of these as well as efficient DC motors is: http://www.goldenmotor.com/. Don't work for them, have just looked at their product line (including electric outboard motors), but you're correct they are quite pricey. Another speed control would be a selector switch for how many battery's are being used.

Last edited by TomGourdin; 04-23-2012 at 09:23 PM. Reason: spelling
TomGourdin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2012, 09:47 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 221
Default

12v battery to operate 120vdc motor?


Quote:
Originally Posted by kevin07 View Post
Do you mean 12vdc to 120vdc or do you mean to 120vac because if its ac i believe a treadmill pulls around 12 amps and it would have to be a 2000 watt inverter and that would be pricy trying to make it work with the lowest possible cost. There may be some cheap one though ill have to look around.
Anybody remember Scrapeheap Challenge/Junkyard Wars?
How big of a boat are you moving?
goosebarry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 01:51 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 29
Default

12v battery to operate 120vdc motor?


Quote:
Originally Posted by goosebarry View Post
Anybody remember Scrapeheap Challenge/Junkyard Wars?
How big of a boat are you moving?

Junkyard wars was an awsome show! wish it was still on.


The boat is a 14ft flat bottom with Alot of weight in it. We had 3 55lb thrust trolling motors on it last time and they beat most boats to the spots.

kevin07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Rheem Air Blower Motor Wiring Problem CompoundNetwork HVAC 3 11-20-2011 03:51 PM
replace repair fasco inducer motor myronl HVAC 4 11-19-2011 07:59 PM
Outside condenser fan motor stops tatums4 HVAC 21 10-12-2011 08:17 PM
New fan motor going out? DavidI HVAC 5 06-23-2010 10:38 AM
comfortmaker furnace; i've done the hard part by taking the blower motor out Hurell HVAC 2 06-05-2010 01:03 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.