Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-22-2009, 05:54 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 133
Rewards Points: 75
Default

12AWG + 15A breaker + bathroom lights


Will only be using it for lights, have dedicated 20A circuits for outlets. Is it ok to use or will I need to up the breaker to 20A?

BimmerRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 05:57 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

12AWG + 15A breaker + bathroom lights


You can use a 15 Amp breaker on a #12 wire if you want to. No problem-o

__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 09:22 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

12AWG + 15A breaker + bathroom lights


If you already have the breaker go for it
But if you need to buy a breaker the 15a & 20a are about the same price
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 10:38 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Brooklyn, New York (NYC)
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 500
Default

12AWG + 15A breaker + bathroom lights


Quote:
Originally Posted by BimmerRacer View Post
Will only be using it for lights, have dedicated 20A circuits for outlets. Is it ok to use or will I need to up the breaker to 20A?
It is safe to use. The other way around (20a. breaker with #14 wire) would be unsafe. Some local codes (Old NYC. pre 2001) would not permit a 20a. breaker on lighting circuits even though the branch circuit wire was #12AWG. (No matter what)Don't Drink and Drive!!!
spark plug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2009, 10:47 PM   #5
Journeyman Wireman
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 188
Rewards Points: 150
Default

12AWG + 15A breaker + bathroom lights


If there is a 15a breaker in the panel, don't assume that the entire circuit is wired with 12 AWG wire. It's possible that someone has altered the circuit with #14 wire and that 15a breaker is sized correctly.
Jupe Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2009, 12:12 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 133
Rewards Points: 75
Default

12AWG + 15A breaker + bathroom lights


Its an existing circuit I traced back to the panel...nothing else on it.

BimmerRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I can "double" the wires to each breaker in my breaker panel right? Piedmont Electrical 40 10-01-2008 11:18 AM
Bathroom(s) Lights formhide Electrical 2 07-02-2008 06:06 AM
Adding can lights to an existing circuit TexasEd Electrical 1 06-17-2008 07:23 PM
Installing Pot Lights - 12AWG and 14/2 wire ... help! njchan Electrical 4 04-10-2008 06:50 PM
Problem with circuit breaker. HELP! spartanic Electrical 2 10-28-2007 03:09 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.