Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 03-09-2007, 05:12 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 75

12awg To 10awg, Why?

hello,

i have yet another question. i just replaced the cable (3 10awg wires) from the fuse box on the back of the house to the central ac compressure, because the cable was cracked and rusted in places. the romex from the service panel to this fuse box looks to be 12awg. why would they run 10awg from the fuse box to the compressor, when they have 12awg comming into the fuse box, with 30a fuses??? as long as the wire is heavy enough not to burn before it trips the breaker is ok, but why???

bob

bobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2007, 06:15 PM   #2
Long-Time DIYer

Rewards Points: 500

12awg To 10awg, Why?

I'm not an electrician, but 220v off of a 30 amp breaker should have 10g all the way from the panel out, such as to an HVAC unit or water heater.
Mike

Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2007, 08:13 PM   #3
Licensed Electrical Cont.

Rewards Points: 2,108

12awg To 10awg, Why?

A/C units and motor circuit follow different rules than other circuits. They are exempt from the restrictions of 240.4(D).

It is completely feasible to have #12 from a 30 amp breaker feeding an A/C unit.

My guess is that they used one of those home center pre-packaged sealtite whips with the connectors and #10 conductors included.
Old 03-09-2007, 08:21 PM   #4
Long-Time DIYer

12awg To 10awg, Why?

See.
A good pro will tell it like it is, and we old DIYers will get it wrong almost every time. LOL.
Mike
Mike Swearingen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2007, 08:03 AM   #5

12awg To 10awg, Why?

Quote:
It is completely feasible to have #12 from a 30 amp breaker feeding an A/C unit