Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-21-2006, 08:46 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Share |
Question

120vac motor running on 60vac


If i have a 120vac motor, will it work on 60vac but slower and not damage the motor? What electrical part should I use to reduce the volts?

airpwr1@graceba.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2006, 11:58 PM   #2
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,171
Default

120vac motor running on 60vac


How are you getting 60VAC and why would you want to convert TO 60VAC if the motor is made for common household 120?

And to answer your actual question: I am inclined to believe that starving it of voltage would burn up the motor.


Last edited by jproffer; 01-22-2006 at 12:00 AM.
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2006, 08:59 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Post

120vac motor running on 60vac


I want To slow the rpm's
airpwr1@graceba.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2006, 02:17 PM   #4
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,171
Default

120vac motor running on 60vac


Then you need a variable speed DC motor and an AC/DC inverter. I don't think running at low voltage is going to accomplish what you want to do. And I still think you'll burn the motor up trying.
jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2006, 04:29 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default

120vac motor running on 60vac


thanks
airpwr1@graceba.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2006, 07:18 PM   #6
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,349
Default

120vac motor running on 60vac


AC motor speed is control by the frequency. Lowering the voltage will only burn up the motor. Change the pulley size or get a different motor.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2006, 09:15 PM   #7
Contractor
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Jensen Beach, FL
Posts: 835
Default

120vac motor running on 60vac


You can buy AC motor controllers but they are rather pricey. They are commonly used on industrial machinery motors.

Teetorbilt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.