Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-27-2012, 07:19 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

120v through a neutral


i have already fixed my problem but i cant stand fixing somthing and not have all the answers. my buddy called me for some help. he put all new outlets and swithes in his house. after he was done he found out none of his lights worked. i figured out the lighting was on one circuit so i opened up a fixture and found 120v from neutral to ground and 120v from hot to ground. so i figured all the lights lost there neutral and i must have reversed polarity somewhere. i found that there was one outlet they stuck on the circuit so i opened it up and there it was it had (3) 14-2 wires on it. two were corrrect but the one he stabbed into the back was reversed causing 120v to be sent through the neutral. i switched them and all the lights worked. so my question is if the neutral on that circuit became energized because it was placed on the hot side of the outlet shouldnt that of acted like a dead short hot to neutral. it seems like to me the breaker on that circuit should of tripped. please help i hate not having an answer to somthing. thanks so much

ronnie1231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 07:27 AM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,825
Default

120v through a neutral


A connection betweeen two conductors of the same phase will not create a short circuit as there is no difference of potential between them.

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 07:37 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Default

120v through a neutral


i understand the whole whole phase thing but i just figured since the neutral went back to the panel and was connected to the ground bar it would ground out. and another thing that was odd to me was i used a plug tester and it tested correct even though i had reversed polarity.
ronnie1231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2012, 09:09 AM   #4
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,825
Default

120v through a neutral


The white wire that was incorrectly connected was going to the lights, not back to the panel. The polarity was wrong to the lights, not at the recep, that is why the tester indicated correct connections.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (05-27-2012), ronnie1231 (05-27-2012)
Old 05-27-2012, 04:21 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3
Default

120v through a neutral


thank you brric you answered my question perfectly
ronnie1231 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need to know if my grounds and neutrals are connected right dorlow Electrical 185 01-15-2012 02:54 PM
Unused ground lead as neutral? ramatsu Electrical 13 01-10-2012 07:44 PM
240V legs measures 0V, but each leg measures 120V to the neutral hohadcr Electrical 16 10-07-2011 01:03 PM
installing new dedicated circuit - neutral bus full 7green Electrical 12 05-03-2011 01:32 PM
Induction Cooktop, no neutral (?!) andersol Electrical 7 09-28-2010 03:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.