Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2011, 04:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

120v gas range wiring question


I am changing my old electric range to a new gas range. Is it permissible to use the heavy existing 220v wiring to the old electric range for powering a new gas range that requires 120v?
My intent is to unhook the existing wire from its 50 amp breaker and run it to a 20 amp breaker, using the red as the ground (and clearly identifying it as such).
I also intend, of course, to install a 20 amp receptacle in place of the old 220v range receptacle.
If this is acceptable it will greatly simplify the wiring requirement for the new range and still leave the old wiring available for an all electric range in the future.

Redfishjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 04:57 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,130
Default

120v gas range wiring question


Nope can't do that. If you have a bare ground you could do as you plan. Red cannot be reindentified to green.

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 04:59 PM   #3
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,713
Default

120v gas range wiring question


What color and how many wires are in the existing cable? It is not code compliant to remark a red wire as ground (and I assume you mean neutral)
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 05:10 PM   #4
I ask the impossible!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 1,055
Blog Entries: 7
Default

120v gas range wiring question


what they said
__________________
Please do NOT consider any "before" picture of my house as any kind of endorsement of any particular construction method. In fact, you should probably assume that if I post a "before" picture, I am posting it because I am soliciting advice on a proper replacement for one of MANY things done wrong by a previous owner.
WillK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 07:50 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 2
Default

120v gas range wiring question


Upon re-examining the existing wire I've found that it is a 4 wire cable - red, black, white, and a bare ground. I believe I'll be able to use this for my 20 amp 120v circuit now.
Will save me a lot of headache!
Redfishjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2011, 09:37 PM   #6
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,130
Default

120v gas range wiring question


Change the breaker to a 20A and pigtail a #12 on the wire and you will be good to go.

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question on surface mounted wiring, plus ... NancyNGA Electrical 0 03-17-2011 01:11 PM
Code requirements for low voltage wiring in conduit with 120V flyboy Electrical 9 12-24-2009 06:48 PM
Electric/Gas Range Question txrun Electrical 3 12-23-2009 08:25 PM
Basement wiring question kupalino Electrical 8 11-14-2009 09:25 AM
Range hood wiring question, help!! nyc_apt_dweller Electrical 4 03-05-2009 08:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.