120V Between Black/ground Wire But ONLY 11-12V Between Black/white??? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-08-2009, 09:31 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

120V between black/ground wire but ONLY 11-12V between black/white???

Greetings all!

I've searched for several hours on the net but no answer to this problem, so I figure to give this direct query a shot...

My wife and I have had this house for a little under a year - 9 years old when we got it - and we've already had our share of annoying problems, but this one is truly perplexing. I'm no electrician but have been comfortable and successful around electricity in the past.

This started earlier this afternoon when I was painting downstairs in the basement, continuing the room that has been without these electrical symptoms in the past week. After plugging in a 300 watt halogen, I plugged in a radio in another socket and the halogen went out... I pulled the radio plug out and the light turned back on... I pushed the radio plug back in, there was a small greenish-blue "spark/flash" from deep inside the plastic box (the cover plates are off), and the light went out again. I pull the radio plug out but this time the light does not turn on - I figure I fried the bulb.

I pull out the plug of the halogen, push the radio plug in but it doesn't work. Ok... I go to the breaker box and, though the switch has not moved from the ON position, I do a manual reset: OFF then ON. I go back to the room and plug in the radio: nothing... nothing from the lamp either. Moving them to plugs on another circuit show that they are working.

I check all 7 of these duplex outlets in the room for voltage and it shows that I'm only getting 11-12 Volts across the black/white wires.