Is It 120V Or 240V? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-08-2011, 10:07 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is it 120V or 240V?


A couple of years ago I removed a baseboard heater from my basement. Now I am making a workshop in my basement for my hobbies and need a couple of outlets. The electrical line is still there from the heater. First, how do I determine if it is a 120V or a 240V line? Then if it is a 120V line, how many outlets can I run from that line?

Advertisement

scooter67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 10:13 AM   #2
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 512
Default

Is it 120V or 240V?


Check where it's attached to the breaker. A 240v circuit will have both wires connected to a double pole breaker. A 120v circuit will have the black hot wire attached to a breaker, and the white neutral attached to the neutral bar.

You can put as many outlets as you want on a circuit, unless you're in Canada, in which case you're limited to 12.

If it is a 240v circuit, you can simply replace the breaker with a single pole, and move the white wire to the neutral bar to make it a 120v circuit. If the wire is 14-gauge, use a 15A breaker. If 12 gauge, you can use a 20A.

Advertisement

McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 11:58 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is it 120V or 240V?


How do I know if it is 12 gauge or 14 gauge? Now i have to go and trace the wire to see what breaker it is hooked to.
scooter67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 01:12 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Is it 120V or 240V?


Quote:
Originally Posted by scooter67 View Post
How do I know if it is 12 gauge or 14 gauge? Now i have to go and trace the wire to see what breaker it is hooked to.
If the walls are open, and you can see the cables coming into the panel, look at where the cable (if it is Romex) comes in. The cable should have the guage (such as 14/2 or 12/2) stamped on the sheath of the cable.

If that's not possible, then replace the single pole with the same amperage as was the double pole.
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 01:26 PM   #5
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,231
Rewards Points: 2,372
Default

Is it 120V or 240V?


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
If the walls are open, and you can see the cables coming into the panel, look at where the cable (if it is Romex) comes in. The cable should have the guage (such as 14/2 or 12/2) stamped on the sheath of the cable.

If that's not possible, then replace the single pole with the same amperage as was the double pole.


Not a good idea, the existing breaker may be wrong for the wire size. Get a wire stripper with wire gauge markings and measure it.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 08:50 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is it 120V or 240V?


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
If the walls are open, and you can see the cables coming into the panel, look at where the cable (if it is Romex) comes in. The cable should have the guage (such as 14/2 or 12/2) stamped on the sheath of the cable.

If that's not possible, then replace the single pole with the same amperage as was the double pole.
I had my wife flip breakers while I held a circuit tester on it. The cable has a three wire Hot, Neutral, and Ground. The breaker is a double pole breaker. I can just replace the breaker with a single breaker correct? Then I should be at the 120V I need, right?
scooter67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 09:24 PM   #7
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 8,012
Rewards Points: 2,822
Default

Is it 120V or 240V?


Quote:
Originally Posted by scooter67 View Post
I had my wife flip breakers while I held a circuit tester on it. The cable has a three wire Hot, Neutral, and Ground. The breaker is a double pole breaker. I can just replace the breaker with a single breaker correct? Then I should be at the 120V I need, right?
You still need to move the white from the double pole breaker to the neutral buss. You also need to install a breaker blank to close off the unused opening.

BTW, with 240 you do not have a neutral. You would have two hots and a grounding conductor.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 09:55 PM   #8
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

Is it 120V or 240V?


You could also take the white off the 2 pole breaker and put it to the neutral bar. Leave the black on the 2 pole breaker and use that breaker if it is the right amperage.

I don't beleive this violates any codes but if I am wrong someone will correct me.
darren is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 09:43 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Is it 120V or 240V?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Port View Post
You still need to move the white from the double pole breaker to the neutral buss. You also need to install a breaker blank to close off the unused opening.

BTW, with 240 you do not have a neutral. You would have two hots and a grounding conductor.
The one thing I did not check was to see if the other white was actually a hot line. I was thinking it was either a neutral or ground but thinking about it, neutral is technically a ground. I am good with small simple circuits not house wiring. I am not sure I can do this myself now. My need to call a professional. So much for saving money on something that is probably simple.
scooter67 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 09:51 AM   #10
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,258
Rewards Points: 1,012
Default

Is it 120V or 240V?


Did your circuit tester read 240v from black to white? If so, both lines (black & white) are hot.

What amperage is the double-pole breaker that controls this circuit?


What you're trying to do is pretty simple, and as long as you are comfortable working inside your panel, you can do this yourself. If you are not, then call an electrician.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2011, 09:52 AM   #11
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 772
Rewards Points: 512
Default

Is it 120V or 240V?


If it is indeed a 240v circuit, then no, the white is not a neutral. Black and white in the cable are both being used as hots, with 240v between them. In the breaker panel, you should see that black and white are both connected to the double pole breaker. This is what everyone is talking about; the white wire simply needs to be moved to the neutral terminal bar in the breaker panel. This will make it a 120v circuit.

Advertisement

McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
switch from 120v to 240v new breaker popwarfour Electrical 24 04-28-2011 09:17 PM
240v Air Compressor to 120v help ruacoltsnut General DIY Discussions 10 11-11-2010 05:05 PM
Pulling 120V outlet from a 240V circuit? npage148 Electrical 12 11-08-2009 12:29 PM
Do you think a tool running at 240v works better than at 120v? Piedmont Electrical 39 07-03-2009 10:50 PM
Understanding 120V branch loads in 100A 240V system WaldenL Electrical 17 02-17-2009 10:15 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts