Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2009, 01:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 107
Share |
Default

120 volt off 240 volt circuit


Forgive me for asking what I'm sure has been asked many times---I didn't find it in the search.

I have a 240 volt circuit with a double 20 amp breaker and 12/3 with ground wire. I assume that either black or red wire with an excess of 20 amps will trip breaker ( both throws are tied together). The circuit is dedicated to an air compressor. In the 240 box, I want to pigtail off the black, white and ground wires for a 120 outlet. This sounds too easy so it must not be possible or against code. In either case, I'll access a 120 outlet----a much harder task because of location.

Against code or not possible?

Captflx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 01:29 PM   #2
My License Ain't 4 Sale..
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Atlanta, Ga/Hamilton, Al
Posts: 1,813
Default

120 volt off 240 volt circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Captflx View Post

Against code or not possible?
What does the circuit feed now? As long as the circuit has a neutral, and the breaker is a double pole and the correct amperage, then it is legal.

InPhase277 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 02:22 PM   #3
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,969
Default

120 volt off 240 volt circuit


Not possible by your description you do not have the neutral as inphase was asking. You cannot use ground as your neutral.

12/3 with ground would imply you have a neutral but you do not mention a white wire??
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 02:37 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 1,802
Default

120 volt off 240 volt circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Not possible by your description you do not have the neutral as inphase was asking. You cannot use ground as your neutral.

12/3 with ground would imply you have a neutral but you do not mention a white wire??
Read it again. There is a red and black at the breaker(The way it sounds). Black and white(and hopefully red) at the 240 outlet.

Last edited by jerryh3; 03-09-2009 at 02:39 PM.
jerryh3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 02:43 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,439
Default

120 volt off 240 volt circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by Captflx View Post
I want to pigtail off the black, white and ground wires for a 120 outlet.
That will work.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 03:04 PM   #6
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,969
Default

120 volt off 240 volt circuit


Quote:
Originally Posted by jerryh3 View Post
Read it again. There is a red and black at the breaker(The way it sounds). Black and white(and hopefully red) at the 240 outlet.
Yep, I should have been more careful in reading. He could certainly use this for a line to neutral load.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2009, 07:53 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 107
Default

120 volt off 240 volt circuit


I was refering to the white wire as neutral. I have a red, black, white and bare ground.

Captflx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a wiring diagram Mooreski Electrical 46 03-12-2011 03:25 PM
Wiring a single pole switch into a 220v circuit rlmorgan Electrical 38 10-15-2008 07:59 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM
So lost - electrical requirements please help lapsis9 HVAC 4 12-20-2006 08:09 PM
Adding new circuit breakers to 100 amp sub panel DrP Electrical 8 05-25-2006 10:05 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.