120 Volt House Service - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2007, 03:52 PM   #1
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 360
Rewards Points: 252
Default

120 volt house service


Has anyone here ever worked in an old house that only had 120 volt electrical service?

I always wondered: what type of loadcenter / fusebox would a service like this have? I remember seeing an old shed that's "subpanel" consisted of a small ceramic fuse block with two fuses on it, installed right out in the open. (fused neutral) It was connected to knob and tube wiring. A house I seen had a similar arrangement: this was a service, and it included a combination knife switch and fuse block, a really old meter, plus 2 more fuse blocks which distributed power to 2 15 amp branch circuits. These where both real old installations (30 amp capacity), probably dating to the '20s or earlier. I have seen a few slightly newer services ('30s to maybe '40s?) in my town, that look similar to a more modern one (meter outside, either round socket or an "A" base meter inside a square windowed box, connected via conduit or SE cable), but they have only two wires coming from the pole. What kind of panel is on the inside? I never seen a 120 only one before... Besides a small one fuse safety switch, but surely there is more inside than that. I have quite a few old panels in my own collection, but they are all for 120/240 V. Perhaps the installer used a 240 fuse panel and jumpered the main lugs?

Just curious... Thanks in advance.

Advertisement

junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2007, 06:08 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

120 volt house service


Quote:
Originally Posted by junkcollector View Post
Has anyone here ever worked in an old house that only had 120 volt electrical service?


Just curious... Thanks in advance.

All homes have 120 volts.

Older homes had 60 AMP main panels.

Newer homes can have 100, 150, 200 amp main panels.

Advertisement

redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2007, 06:14 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,294
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

120 volt house service


He said ONLY 120 volt.

I have seen a few here circa 1920 usually with a screw in type fuse inside a tiny disconnect.
220/221 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2007, 06:30 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,975
Rewards Points: 2,046
Default

120 volt house service


Any panel can be jumpered so a single 120 volt feed powers both sides. This is rarely done for panels with more than eight branch circuits, 240 volt service being used instead.

For early 20'th century 120 volt services, often the small porcelain block with the fuses together with a disconnect switch of some sort is the "main panel".

Sometimes but not always, for a small (30 amp by 120 volt or so service) the fuse block and the disconnect switch are housed in a single metal box with the switch handle protruding from the side. This is not a real panel in that opening the box exposes all of the connections and switch contacts.

Last edited by AllanJ; 12-18-2007 at 06:36 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2007, 07:21 PM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

120 volt house service


Sure.,, I still see some still on 120 Volt 30 amp service we have 8 homes still on that exsting service and they are planned to be phased out soon.

and one other city have IIRC 5 home still have it.

most of them have 2 or 3 plug fuse in there with small disconnection switch as main switch.

for out in rural area kinda like touch and go and it will show up with older country home as well. [ that about gone anyway]

and some of them have very oddball metering base as well.

i did rewired one house few months ago put in 100 amp 120/240v service it make the diffrernce between day and nite.

Merci, Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2007, 10:40 PM   #6
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

120 volt house service


I've seen exactly one house like that and remember thinking: "Now THAT is single phase!". These types of services are FAR and few between (thank heaven).
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2007, 12:13 PM   #7
Floor Sweeper
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Central MN
Posts: 360
Rewards Points: 252
Default

120 volt house service


Thanks guys for the info.

have a good day.
junkcollector is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2011, 08:13 PM   #8
VA master electrician
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Yorktown, VA
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

120 volt house service


I have seen only one 120V 30A service in my 40 years of doing this type of work!
It had (2) 15A fuses. The range & heat were both natural gas.
VA master elect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2011, 03:27 AM   #9
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,569
Rewards Points: 2,034
Default

120 volt house service


Quote:
Originally Posted by VA master elect View Post
I have seen only one 120V 30A service in my 40 years of doing this type of work!
It had (2) 15A fuses. The range & heat were both natural gas.
This thread is from 2007.
mpoulton is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to mpoulton For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (12-14-2011)
Old 12-15-2011, 01:36 PM   #10
Member
 
Julius793's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: New york
Posts: 1,053
Rewards Points: 500
Default

120 volt house service


I worked in quite a large apartment Building that the service coming in only had 120v, and then each apt. had like 2 15 amp fuses
__________________
Electricity will kill you if you give it a chance
Julius793 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 05:51 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,701
Rewards Points: 2,362
Default

120 volt house service


Really old electrical instalations from the early days of electricity,
Usually only had very small panels because loads were pretty
light when compared to todays demand.
It was usually just some lights,
and possibly a valve wireless,
and very occasionally an appliance of some kind,
that was usually it.
So a small 30a service would have been plenty,
and two circuits usually enough.

Today it is quite different
loads substancially heavier now
now we would use 30a in one room.

But it wasnt always that way.

Advertisement

dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cape Cod Style House Attic/Crawl Space Insulation Help Danielg Insulation 24 05-21-2012 09:20 AM
200 Amp service really needed for a 830 sq ft house? overkill? alexz Electrical 7 11-16-2009 06:54 PM
Complete AC installation in Old Capitol Hill Row House jacko10 HVAC 0 09-18-2007 06:42 PM
200 amp panel with a 100 amp service? alexz Electrical 10 07-29-2007 11:00 PM
Volt coming into house whitepa254 Electrical 9 02-20-2006 05:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts