#12 Wire, Stranded Or Solid? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2011, 10:53 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

#12 wire, stranded or solid?


#12 wire, stranded or solid? Whats the reason to use one over the other?
I need to run some wiring in my shop and would like to know what you the difference is.

Thanks

Advertisement

Serrano7503 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 10:54 PM   #2
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,159
Rewards Points: 534
Default

#12 wire, stranded or solid?


Nothing, I find #12 solid easier to work with once you start putting it on plugs and switches.

Advertisement

darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 11:17 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 90
Rewards Points: 75
Default

#12 wire, stranded or solid?


Solid will be slightly smaller in diameter. Stranded is slightly larger but more flexible. I agree that solid is easier to work with for most tasks.
brgmgb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 11:18 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

#12 wire, stranded or solid?


Thats what i was looking for,
Thx!
Serrano7503 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2011, 11:19 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 780
Rewards Points: 500
Default

#12 wire, stranded or solid?


Stranded wire works better if you have sharp bends or if subject to flexing.
hayewe farm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 06:38 AM   #6
Limited Experience
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 123
Rewards Points: 75
Default

#12 wire, stranded or solid?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hayewe farm View Post
Stranded wire works better if you have sharp bends or if subject to flexing.
I would tend to think that solid is not allowed if flexing is a possibility.
raleighthings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 11:27 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 500
Default

#12 wire, stranded or solid?


Use stranded for cables which move. Notice that appliance cords use stranded wires.

If you take a [solid wire] coat hanger and bend it back and forth many times, it will break.

Then much easier to secure a solid wire around a screw like the screw on the side of an outlet or switch.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2011, 12:28 PM   #8
JOATMON
 
ddawg16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: S. California
Posts: 7,650
Rewards Points: 2,614
Default

#12 wire, stranded or solid?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy_Bob View Post
Use stranded for cables which move. Notice that appliance cords use stranded wires.

If you take a [solid wire] coat hanger and bend it back and forth many times, it will break.

Then much easier to secure a solid wire around a screw like the screw on the side of an outlet or switch.
There ya go.....

Performance wise....both are about the same....but the mechanical aspects are what dictates what you use.

Try to attach a stranded wire to the screw of a typical outlet....better yet, don't try.....not safe unless you use a crimp on connector.

Both types will wire nut up just fine....If my run is using stranded....then when I get to a recpt box, I will make a pig tail using solid wire to connect to the recept.

And if you ever try to pull solid through conduit.....then you will understand real fast why most people do not pull solid through conduit.

Advertisement

__________________
Even if you are on the right track, you will still get run over if you just sit there.

My 2-Story Addition Build in Progress Link ... My Garage Build Link and My Jeep Build Link
ddawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Changing Two Gang Outlet to Three Gang Outlet vbullinger Electrical 9 01-10-2011 06:13 PM
HVAC three wire motor to six wire motor Leo Caproni HVAC 5 10-18-2010 02:23 PM
Stranded wire in breaker? gma2rjc Electrical 3 09-25-2010 01:00 PM
6/3 wire through smurf tube? anygren Electrical 13 08-14-2010 08:23 AM
connecting straight wire to stranded Cossack Electrical 5 07-30-2010 02:52 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts