Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-08-2012, 07:28 PM   #31
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 119
Share |
Default

12-3 UF cable with No Ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Upside down!
There is no upside down. whats the reasoning for the grounding slot on the bottom as compared to the way I have it??

Unless the plug going into the outlet is an immediate turn plug then doesnt matter

Last edited by collegetry; 08-08-2012 at 07:34 PM.
collegetry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 07:29 PM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 119
Default

12-3 UF cable with No Ground


Im going to watch Olympics. I'll let you guys keep repeating its upside down.
collegetry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 07:30 PM   #33
zpm
yeah, right
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 142
Default

12-3 UF cable with No Ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by collegetry View Post
are you suggesting I paint it? why?
Or you can paint it gray.

If you don't and its in direct sun, it will turn a lovely shade of yucky purple brown. Of course by then it will match the crappy plastic cover which (if it hasn't been broken off) will be cloudy and scratched up.
__________________
Honey, does this tool belt make me look FAT?
zpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 07:34 PM   #34
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,236
Default

12-3 UF cable with No Ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by collegetry View Post
There is no upside down. whats the reasoning for the grounding slot on the bottom as compared to the way I have it??
Its just electrical humor... embrace it!!!
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 07:37 PM   #35
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 119
Default

12-3 UF cable with No Ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by zpm View Post
by then it will match the crappy plastic cover which (if it hasn't been broken off) will be cloudy and scratched up.
crappy cover you think? Its not a home depot or lowes special. Its a Morris brand from a local supply house. What would you have suggested?
collegetry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 08:04 PM   #36
E2 Electrician
 
stickboy1375's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Litchfield, CT
Posts: 4,236
Default

12-3 UF cable with No Ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by collegetry View Post
crappy cover you think? Its not a home depot or lowes special. Its a Morris brand from a local supply house. What would you have suggested?

I use taymac, they are all ugly.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stickboy1375 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2012, 09:19 PM   #37
zpm
yeah, right
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 142
Default

12-3 UF cable with No Ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by collegetry View Post
crappy cover you think? Its not a home depot or lowes special. Its a Morris brand from a local supply house. What would you have suggested?
Exposed plastic doesn't last long in my area.

I prefer Genuine Cheap Chinese Lead Tainted Galvanized Steel.

(with a solid cover, nobody's gonna see if the ground is up or down)
Attached Images
 
__________________
Honey, does this tool belt make me look FAT?

Last edited by zpm; 08-08-2012 at 09:24 PM. Reason: replaced link with picture
zpm is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to zpm For This Useful Post:
Missouri Bound (08-08-2012)
Old 08-09-2012, 07:23 AM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 119
Default

12-3 UF cable with No Ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
The writing on the receptacle is upside down, right?
Missouri Bound I assume you like the Show Me State so I will show you. Heres a close up of the outlet I used. You tell me.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
That's a clue as to how it is intended to be installed.
So by your logic ground slot up. Thank You.

Also next time you are in a hospital note which way the ground slot is positioned on the receptacles.
Attached Thumbnails
12-3 UF cable with No Ground-close-recept.jpg  

Last edited by collegetry; 08-09-2012 at 12:04 PM.
collegetry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 07:25 AM   #39
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 119
Default

12-3 UF cable with No Ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by zpm View Post
I prefer Genuine Cheap Chinese Lead Tainted Galvanized Steel.

I like it.

Now can we discuss which way the toilet paper should be, Over or Under??

Last edited by collegetry; 08-09-2012 at 07:28 AM.
collegetry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 07:47 AM   #40
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto Ontario
Posts: 1,165
Default

12-3 UF cable with No Ground


Jobs with metal cover plates are often spec'd ground up so if someone removes the plate with something connected to the receptacle then the plate falls on the ground instead of across the power and neutral.

I know its stupid, why take a plate off with something plugged in, but i've seen it required on a lot of jobs.
__________________
Sarcasm is my friend
I'm here to learn too, i do mostly commercial/industrial/new construction and this place is a great way to pick up tips on residential from some good electrical minds. Excuse the spelling, my phone has a mind of it's own.
andrew79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 10:54 AM   #41
zpm
yeah, right
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: California
Posts: 142
Default

12-3 UF cable with No Ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by collegetry View Post
I like it.

Now can we discuss which way the toilet paper should be, Over or Under??
Already been discussed.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toilet_paper_orientation

And the answer is ... what the wife wants.
__________________
Honey, does this tool belt make me look FAT?
zpm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 12:02 PM   #42
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 119
Default

12-3 UF cable with No Ground


Ever wonder why the words TEST and RESET are on the buttons of a GFI in both orientations??
Attached Images
 
collegetry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 02:11 PM   #43
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

12-3 UF cable with No Ground


Quote:
Originally Posted by collegetry View Post
Ever wonder why the words TEST and RESET are on the buttons of a GFI in both orientations??
Your picture is upside down......
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 06:39 PM   #44
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 119
Default

12-3 UF cable with No Ground


deleted

Last edited by collegetry; 08-09-2012 at 08:00 PM.
collegetry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2012, 10:47 PM   #45
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

12-3 UF cable with No Ground


I always thought that it was a signature as to whether you were installing in a commercial setting or residential ....

Ground up ..... commercial
Ground down ... residential

The only time in residential that I really think about it is if there is a cord device that will be plugged into the outlet that might be better oriented if the ground is up. Otherwise I put the ground down or I install the outlet side ways .... then it becomes ground left or ground right ....
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
50 Amps for a garage help IcyShadowz Electrical 48 05-31-2012 10:58 PM
running outdoor cable from house to detached shed above ground amakarevic Electrical 2 11-19-2010 02:16 PM
Can I ground an outlet via a cable jack? OhNevermindMe Electrical 7 04-15-2010 10:06 PM
Ground rod or not? brotherman Electrical 30 07-15-2008 04:58 PM
Cable and telephone ground jerryh3 Electrical 12 06-16-2008 08:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.