Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-01-2010, 11:29 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

12-3 / 2 circuits CRAZINESS! HELP


A friend recommended i run a single 12-3 UF wire to power a newly built pavillion to save $ on wire. I read a few articles explaining the seperate legs at the panel. I understand the necessity for positioning the breakers on seperate phases to accomodate the return of +18a/-18a when sharing a common neutral for two circuits.

WHY do i read 1.5 - 1.9 on the tester when i have it connected to the one breaker completely disconnected from the panel and in my HAND with the other breaker in the on position?

Out of shear curiousity i disconnected EVERY other wire from the sequence (even white and ground) to insure no crossing/crushing/crimping etc and still have the same reading

PLEASE HELP!

Hairy Homeowner

jasondelucia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 11:57 AM   #2
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 752
Default

12-3 / 2 circuits CRAZINESS! HELP


Where are the two probes of your tester connected when you get this reading? You are probably just picking up a bit of phantom voltage induced from other nearby wires.

Also, your post makes it sound like you are using two separate breakers for this circuit. This is incorrect, a multi-wire branch circuit must use a double-pole breaker.

McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 12:33 PM   #3
Just call me Andrew
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 2,252
Default

12-3 / 2 circuits CRAZINESS! HELP


Quote:
Originally Posted by McSteve View Post
a multi-wire branch circuit must use a double-pole breaker.

Or two single-pole breakers above one another, tied together with a handle tie.
__________________
Andrew

secutanudu is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to secutanudu For This Useful Post:
McSteve (09-01-2010)
Old 09-01-2010, 01:17 PM   #4
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 752
Default

12-3 / 2 circuits CRAZINESS! HELP


Quote:
Originally Posted by secutanudu View Post
Or two single-pole breakers above one another, tied together with a handle tie.
Thanks for that, I always forget that possibility.
McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AFCI and 3-wire circuits...ugghh mhops Electrical 11 03-17-2010 11:22 AM
Adding odd circuits in a bedroom and hood fan oh my! beatle Electrical 3 11-19-2009 07:45 AM
15A receptacle circuits in kitchen _in addition to_ 2x 20A? WaldenL Electrical 4 09-18-2009 04:58 PM
replacing old wire on existing circuits... red86yota Electrical 9 12-08-2008 06:00 PM
One neutral for two circuits?? TronCarter Electrical 13 01-14-2007 08:21 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.