12/2 Vs. 12/3 - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-07-2009, 02:29 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

12/2 vs. 12/3


I'm doing a wiring project and need some advice on what type of wire to purchase. I'm basically going to tap into an existing 20 amp circuit outlet in the kitchen to install an extra outlet. I need to do this as I am moving the refridgerator and installing an over the range microwave.

The cost of the wire is not a concern for me. My basic question is if I can just buy 12/3 wire, even though I probably won't need the extra hot wire? Can I do this and just not use the extra hot wire?

Also, for what I am doing will 12/2 wire be enough? Actually, I'm pretty sure that it will be enough, but I wanted to know if 12/3 is also fine to use and is just overkill.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks - Joe

Advertisement

Suncrest79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 02:35 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 241
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via AIM to Bocolo
Default

12/2 vs. 12/3


Joe,
I am not an electrician but from my understanding you can use 12/3 and cap off the red wire at both ends. If in the future you need a 240 volts appliance installed you can use this 12/3 wire and use the red. I guess the short answer is YES and cap off the reds. 12 gauge for 20 amps is correct. Remember that you can not tap from the kitchen if the power to new receptacle is to be used outside the kitchen which I do not believe is your case.

Advertisement

__________________
One Pound of Knowledge Requires Ten Pounds of Common Sense In Order To Be Useful
Bocolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2009, 03:42 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 10
Default

12/2 vs. 12/3


bocolo you seem like your somewhat knowledgable-im a newb and posted a question in the forums.if you dont mind, check it out-nobody seems to know the answer..(sorry to invade another thread with my question.)
Electricnewb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
12/2 wire vs "heater wire" shtoink Electrical 11 11-23-2008 03:16 PM
Question: Is using 12/2 wire, ok on 15amp breaker/outlets? ehoez Electrical 3 07-14-2008 08:41 AM
How can I use my 12/3 w/G ?? bradsguns Electrical 1 07-10-2008 11:20 AM
12/2 diameter question mark942 Electrical 5 04-18-2008 11:25 PM
Moving from 12/2 to 14/2 bbarnhart Electrical 4 12-04-2005 07:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts