12/2 Or 14/2? - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-21-2010, 12:07 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 114
Rewards Points: 87
Default

12/2 or 14/2?


Is there any benefit to running 12/2 for everything? I bought a house and it seems a lot of the wiring is 12/2. Should I stick with the 12 gauge when extending to some new recessed lighting I am installing or should I jump off the existing 12 with 14 gauge (is that even legal?)?

Any help is much appeciated

Advertisement

luvdairish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2010, 12:11 PM   #2
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

12/2 or 14/2?


Stay what the conductor size is allready run so if you have 4.0mm˛ { #12 AWG } so stay with it and they will work fine with 20 amp breaker however a nice gotcha yeah you can use 15 amp breaker as well but normally I resved that for long runs only.

Do not use 2.5mm˛ {#14 AWG } with 4.0mm˛ there due they are only rated at 15 amp max.

Merci.
Marc

Advertisement

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
Proby (08-21-2010)
Old 08-21-2010, 12:28 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Proby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: NJ
Posts: 818
Rewards Points: 500
Default

12/2 or 14/2?


Yup, you can't run #14 wire on a 20A circuit, even if it's only for one light.

As for running all #12, I have been doing that more and more lately.
__________________
Anything fun is either illegal, immoral, or fattening.
Proby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2010, 01:25 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 114
Rewards Points: 87
Default

12/2 or 14/2?


Sorry should have mentioned tn this case, the circuit is 15amp. Is it still ok to use 12 with a 15amp?
luvdairish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2010, 01:34 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

12/2 or 14/2?


Yes you can still use #12 with a 15a breaker
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2010, 01:50 PM   #6
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

12/2 or 14/2?


Yep you can use 15 amp breaker with 4.0mm˛ cable that is not a issue at all but just make a note on the breaker box what that goes.

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2010, 03:13 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: north central pa
Posts: 187
Rewards Points: 201
Default

12/2 or 14/2?


"Is there any benefit to running 12/2 for everything?" - you only have to keep track of one wire size for all branch ckt's, except for dedicated loads of course.
TimPa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2010, 05:52 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,899
Rewards Points: 2,152
Default

12/2 or 14/2?


Quote:
Originally Posted by luvdairish View Post
Sorry should have mentioned tn this case, the circuit is 15amp. Is it still ok to use 12 with a 15amp?
Yes, but under normal circumstances (such as not extremely long circuits) it make NO sense to use #12 on a 15A breaker. If it is all #12 use a 20A breaker.

Advertisement

Speedy Petey is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (08-21-2010)
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
14/2 vs. 12/2 questions sanny651 Electrical 7 03-06-2010 11:52 PM
12/2 wire in contact with Hot water pipe (copper) - Dangerous? Tryvidy Electrical 6 04-21-2009 08:35 PM
12/2 wire vs "heater wire" shtoink Electrical 11 11-23-2008 03:16 PM
Using 14/2 wire on 20 amp circuit mohairy Electrical 1 12-29-2007 07:26 AM
Moving from 12/2 to 14/2 bbarnhart Electrical 4 12-04-2005 07:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts