Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-12-2008, 09:45 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

110v vs. 220v

I am a total novice and semi electrically illiterate. I have a lathe, which has a 110v,1-phase, 3/4 hp, 1725 rpm motor. Changing spindle speeds is a PITA, requiring changing belt positions on stepped-pulleys and/or changing gears. Even then, I cannot get the extremely slow speeds I would like for some operations. So, searching, googling, etc., I've decided the best solution to my problem (so I would have low-rpm torque) is to replace the motor with a 3-phase motor and control the rpm with a variable frequency drive (VFD). I obtained a 3-phase, 1hp, 208/460v, 1725rpm motor at a garage sale for $25. I am ready to order the VFD and have decided a Teco/Westinghouse FM-50 VFD would be suitable. These units are available with either a 110v, 1-phase or 220v, 1-phase input and 208-230v 3-phase output, for approximatley the same price. I presently have 110v at the lathe, but could easily run a 220v branch circuit. So, my question (finally), are there any advantages/disadvantages making it preferrable to using one voltage over the other??

gunboatbay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 10:33 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 254

110v vs. 220v

I am a bit of a newbie also, but believe if you want 3 phase 208v, you may need an additional wire(s?) run from your service provider, whereas with 1 phase 240 you should be able to do that assuming you have space available for a branch circuit breaker (?) The experts will chime in...

pcampbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2008, 01:19 PM   #3
Once fried, twice shy.

Rewards Points: 250

110v vs. 220v

My comments in blue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gunboatbay View Post