Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-26-2011, 02:47 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

110v outlet from 220v line


I have a 220v line that runs to the end of a dock (it runs a boat lift). I would like to put a 110v light out there as well. Can I take one leg of the 220v and use it to run the 110v light? The boat lift and the light will not be on at the same time.

Thanks,

emstype is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 02:54 PM   #2
Lic Electrical Inspector
 
electures's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: The Great Police State of New Jersey
Posts: 1,682
Rewards Points: 1,002
Default

110v outlet from 220v line


Quote:
Originally Posted by emstype View Post
I have a 220v line that runs to the end of a dock (it runs a boat lift). I would like to put a 110v light out there as well. Can I take one leg of the 220v and use it to run the 110v light? The boat lift and the light will not be on at the same time.

Thanks,
The light needs a neutral (white wire).

__________________
All responses based on the 2011 NEC.
If you live in New Jersey click here. All other states click here.
Please check with local, county and state officials as laws may vary.
Sizing motors here. Online motor calculator here. Online calculators here.
electures is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 05:15 PM   #3
Semi-Pro Electro-Geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arizona, USA
Posts: 2,557
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

110v outlet from 220v line


Quote:
Originally Posted by emstype View Post
I have a 220v line that runs to the end of a dock (it runs a boat lift). I would like to put a 110v light out there as well. Can I take one leg of the 220v and use it to run the 110v light? The boat lift and the light will not be on at the same time.

Thanks,
You can only do this if it's a 4-wire circuit, i.e. there's a neutral wire present. Otherwise no. If there is no neutral, then you have two options for installing a light: either use a small transformer to step 240V down to 120 to run the light, or use a 240V light. If you use a fluorescent, metal halide, or sodium fixture, you can easily choose one with a 240V ballast. That's the simplest solution.
mpoulton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2011, 06:56 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

110v outlet from 220v line


I'd opt for a small control transformer for the light. Using an LED or CFL light would not need many watts, and something as small as a 40VA control transformer would be sufficient for such a light.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kbsparky For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (06-27-2011)
Old 06-27-2011, 12:58 AM   #5
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

110v outlet from 220v line


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
I'd opt for a small control transformer for the light. Using an LED or CFL light would not need many watts, and something as small as a 40VA control transformer would be sufficient for such a light.
I was going to suggest that one as well but that work very well.

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Switched Outlet Issue mjm Electrical 11 01-23-2011 07:41 AM
Changing 220V to 110V (hardwired) for an electric to gas cooktop switch. charleyhart Electrical 14 01-15-2011 01:12 AM
convert 110v to 220v Hayseed Electrical 4 12-01-2010 07:30 PM
220v vs 110v Baseboard Heater?? Master Brian Electrical 8 11-19-2010 11:13 PM
Main box feeding 220v and 110v brearker box off a 50am breaker? uvamosk Electrical 30 10-14-2009 10:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.