Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-24-2011, 05:40 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

110 volt subpanel


Hello

I have a 110 v leg coming off a 220 breaker. Can I take this 110v leg and use it to service a new 110v subpanel?

Thx in advance

igd101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 07:29 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 83
Rewards Points: 0
Default

110 volt subpanel


not legally

jammin06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 07:37 PM   #3
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

110 volt subpanel


Quote:
Originally Posted by jammin06 View Post
not legally
EXPLAIN PLEASE
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 08:50 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 0
Default

110 volt subpanel


I don't know about the legal stature of this but one thing also though -
While the main panel can connect the ground and neutral into the same tie-in, this tactic cannot be done at sub-panels. It does have to have it's own ground running to the main panel and not a neutral-ground tie-in.
I am no expert on all this but just look into that.
AnErin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2011, 09:56 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Rewards Points: 0
Default

110 volt subpanel


Quote:
Originally Posted by igd101 View Post
Hello

I have a 110 v leg coming off a 220 breaker. Can I take this 110v leg and use it to service a new 110v subpanel?

Thx in advance
No, not without a lot more description of this situation.

What is the "leg"?
What size wire?
What size breaker?
What is the other half of the breaker doing?
Where will the sub-panel be?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 05:46 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

110 volt subpanel


Petey

the "leg" is off a 30amp breaker going out to a dock.
12-2 wire "leg" off 30 amp double breaker presently running to a GFIC's
the subpanel would be to service the GFIC and lights
igd101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 06:37 AM   #7
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,792
Rewards Points: 16
Default

110 volt subpanel


Where does the other leg go?
You can not use 12/2 on one leg of a 30 amp breaker.
You either need to change the wire to #10, or change the breaker to 20 amp.
If you do not need the 2 pole breaker, change it out to two single pole breakers of the corrct size.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 06:48 AM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

110 volt subpanel


let me try to give more details

i have a 220v double breaker that feeds a boat lift

near by there is a 110volt box which feeds 2 GFIC outlets....when i turn off the double breaker dock feed, the 110 v GFIC outlets go off also....not good!

Can i take this line that feeds the GFIC and put a subpanel before the GFIC's?
igd101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 07:53 AM   #9
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,826
Rewards Points: 0
Default

110 volt subpanel


Quote:
Originally Posted by igd101 View Post
let me try to give more details

i have a 220v double breaker that feeds a boat lift

near by there is a 110volt box which feeds 2 GFIC outlets....when i turn off the double breaker dock feed, the 110 v GFIC outlets go off also....not good!

Can i take this line that feeds the GFIC and put a subpanel before the GFIC's?
NO! The 240v line is feeding the 240v boat lift, as well as the receptacles. This is why everything goes off.

IMO this sounds like a handyman special death trap:
- 12/2 on a 30A breaker, especially considering the potential distance which makes it that much worse.
- 120v and 240v loads on a 12/2, which means the bare ground is carrying current. Fun times when there is a break in the ground and ALL metal parts associated with this system become live. Nice when you are outdoors, on the wet grass, by the wet lake.


Sorry, until you have an electrician out to evaluate this mess I am done.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2011, 11:42 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,946
Rewards Points: 0
Default

110 volt subpanel


The existing 120 volt GFCI receptacles should have had a neutral and a maximum of 20 ampere breakering (overcurrent protection). A 240 volt only circuit with two current carrying conductors and ground may not serve 120 volt loads with or without a GFCI.

__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Several Questions...leading to Garage Subpanel willstutely Electrical 5 01-03-2012 01:38 PM
Wiring Subpanel off Subpanel brgmgb Electrical 2 08-29-2011 04:18 PM
Problems with Square D Subpanel bltglt507 Electrical 16 12-04-2009 08:44 PM
A few slightly different questions on subpanel wiring. Chris Dopp Electrical 8 06-26-2009 09:45 PM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 09:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.