Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-10-2013, 10:04 PM   #31
Field Service
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 139
Share |
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyB60 View Post
Well I know the difference, but thats not what a real electrician would say. I've been a licensed electrician for 35 years and I've never heard a electrician refer to it in those terms. Now maybe you do where your from, but not in CA.

Now one might say "single pole 240 relay" or "two pole 240 switch" but never referring to a circuit.
I've never heard it either, but in the context presented I didn't find it confusing. What terminology would you use in differentiating Euro 240 from the US split phase 240?
diystephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 10:08 PM   #32
Close to retirement
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: High Desert, Southern Calif.
Posts: 40
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by diystephen View Post
I've never heard it either, but in the context presented I didn't find it confusing. What terminology would you use in differentiating Euro 240 from the US split phase 240?
I don't deal with European stuff and only know that it is 240 or 250 volt to ground so that would be single pole.
Actually after thinking about it I still would not use "pole" unless it was referring to how many contacts were in a switch. I've never been to Europe and it was not part of my learning so I have no idea what they would call it/

Last edited by JohnnyB60; 02-10-2013 at 10:14 PM.
JohnnyB60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 10:12 PM   #33
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyB60 View Post
Well it depends if the item was made for the USA. I have a lot of shop equipment made in china that was built for use in the USA and itís what it says it is. Somehow I have a hard time believing that a item built in China and sent to the US would be anything else.
Now if the OP was actually in China when purchasing it and then had it sent here, that would be another story. But Iím not buying it because it was ordered here and the seller knows itís marked for USA. I buy electrical stuff on eBay from China all the time and never have I gotten anything that was not compatible with USA standards
I mentioned this early early on in this thread post #3. However I've been doing this forum for many years and you might be surprised how many people find websites that allow them to order equipment configured for IEC standards of the country of origin. I can go online and order anything I want from the UK for example.
I've been waiting for the OP to return and give more information.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 10:14 PM   #34
Field Service
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 139
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyB60 View Post
Now one might say "single pole 240 relay" or "two pole 240 switch" but never referring to a circuit.
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyB60 View Post
I don't deal with European stuff and only know that it is 240 or 250 volt to ground so that would be single pole.
I thought you wouldn't refer to a circuit as single pole
diystephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 10:17 PM   #35
Close to retirement
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: High Desert, Southern Calif.
Posts: 40
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by diystephen View Post
I thought you wouldn't refer to a circuit as single pole
You got me, but I don't know anything about Europe stuff.
JohnnyB60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 10:21 PM   #36
Close to retirement
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: High Desert, Southern Calif.
Posts: 40
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
I've been waiting for the OP to return and give more information.
We may have scared off the OP
JohnnyB60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 10:23 PM   #37
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyB60 View Post
We may have scared off the OP
That's always a possibility when we get off track from the original question.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 07:14 PM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 481
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyB60 View Post
What! 240/120 does work on straight 240, you just don't use the neutral.
The 120v won't.
Toller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 07:27 PM   #39
Close to retirement
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: High Desert, Southern Calif.
Posts: 40
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by Toller View Post
The 120v won't.
That is correct but 120 has to have a neutral to be 120V. DUH!
Wow you guys are too much. How old is this group? I feel like I'm talking to kids.
JohnnyB60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 08:08 PM   #40
Field Service
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 139
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyB60 View Post
That is correct but 120 has to have a neutral to be 120V. DUH!
Wow you guys are too much. How old is this group? I feel like I'm talking to kids.
I believe Toller's definition of "straight 240" is a single wire 240 feed (phase to neutral.) I won't call it single pole 240... We thank you for the insult though...
diystephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 08:15 PM   #41
Close to retirement
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: High Desert, Southern Calif.
Posts: 40
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by diystephen View Post
I believe Toller's definition of "straight 240" is a single wire 240 feed (phase to neutral.) I won't call it single pole 240... We thank you for the insult though...
LOL, Iím sorry, but I just donít think like this. I guess Iím too old for this. I believe the youngsters at work call this ďAnalĒ or something of the sort.
JohnnyB60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2013, 07:48 PM   #42
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

is it 110 or 220


How many "poles" in a 240v, 60 HZ, 3450 rpm electric motor? How about a 120v motor? How about a 120v 1725 rpm motor?
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.