Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-10-2013, 07:08 PM   #16
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmran View Post
But a 240 volt single pole circuit and a 240 volt double pole circuit are each intended for specific equipment/devices.
Just becarefull when you mention 240 volt single pole circuit breaker the only time you will see that in North Americianie side is 240 volt corner grounded delta system only .,, That is it own world and it is easy to get confused with this one.

But over here in European area it is common to find 240 volt single pole circuit due it is our normal single phase supply ( 240 volts line to netural ) but few case I know in Germany but very limited over here in France we can have 240 volt delta ( line to line or 127 volts line to neutral if in wye format )

However this part will get your attetion when you mention double pole which also it is normal due we will have switched netural ONLY at the OCPD ( breaker or RCD <GFCI> ) that is common with single phase per our French Nomes ( codes ) but the other type of double pole is line to line format which it will result 415 volts ( part of three phase supply )

Merci,
Marc

__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to frenchelectrican For This Useful Post:
JohnnyB60 (02-10-2013), mpoulton (02-10-2013)
Old 02-10-2013, 07:17 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,965
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

is it 110 or 220


A 240 volt only device (has two wires not including a ground wire for connection to 240 volts) will work on any 240 volt source of the correct AC frequency, regardless of whether that is a 3 phase source or a 120/240 volt U.S. residential feed or a 480 volt industrial system with neutral to provide 240 volts.

A 120/240 volt appliance has three connecting wires not counting ground: hot, hot, and neutral. Its power switch must be double pole to switch both of the hot wires since the power is not officially switched off if any two of the three connecting lines are not interrupted. (An appliance could have a triple pole power switch to interrupt the neutral as well as the two hots but this is not needed and rarely if ever seen.
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 02-10-2013 at 07:30 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to AllanJ For This Useful Post:
JohnnyB60 (02-10-2013)
Old 02-10-2013, 07:18 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Rewards Points: 500
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by frenchelectrican

Just becarefull when you mention 240 volt single pole circuit breaker the only time you will see that in North Americianie side is 240 volt corner grounded delta system only .,, That is it own world and it is easy to get confused with this one.

But over here in European area it is common to find 240 volt single pole circuit due it is our normal

Merci,
Marc
Hey...the Internet abolishes all borders. We are all on the same planet.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 07:20 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 828
Rewards Points: 576
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by joed View Post
Yes but if plug a 240 hot to ground device into a 240 hot to hot device then you may have just applied 120 volts relative to ground onto the metal framing of the device.
Clothes dryers excepted, in a word, no
Anti-wingnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 07:20 PM   #20
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
A 240 volt only device (has two wires not including a ground wire for connection to 240 volts) will work on any 240 volt source of the correct AC frequency, regardless of whether that is a 3 phase source or a 120/240 volt U.S. residential feed or a 480 volt industrial system with neutral to provide 240 volts.
Allan.,

Check the underline part majorty of the USA and European industrial users use three phase and there is no way you can get 240 volts out of 480 volts Wye system which it is common one.

The only correct voltage from 480 volts three phase with netural is 277 volts not 240 volts ( the key word is square root of 3 that how you get that number )

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 08:09 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,965
Rewards Points: 2,026
Default

is it 110 or 220


I meant a single phase system with center tapped 480 volt transformer secondary which system (subsystem) I believe might be found in a factory although the service to that building is not single phase 480 volt..
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 02-10-2013 at 08:14 PM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 08:25 PM   #22
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
I meant a single phase system with center tapped 480 volt transformer secondary which system (subsystem) I believe might be found in a factory although the service to that building is not single phase 480 volt..
The centre tapped 480/240 volt transfomer is not a super common item but it do show up once a while.

But majorty of them used 480 volt primary and 120/240 or 120 volt single phase secondary which that is most common way to use them.

Otherwise few location I know I dealt with them they will use 480D-208Y120 transformer which that is common as well. ( on triphase supply )

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 08:33 PM   #23
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,042
Rewards Points: 2,054
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyB60 View Post
I don’t know what you are talking about by 240 volt double pole circuit. Double pole usually means opening both sides such as a contractor or rely. I think you're maybe referring to a 3 wire circuit where you have two lines with 240 volts between them and a neutral wire for 120V.
Nope in my case I was refering to our split phase system in the USA where you have two ungrounded conductors with a 240 volt potential between them and an equipment ground. Which most likely is what the OP ordered if it was for use in the USA.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie

Last edited by Stubbie; 02-10-2013 at 08:36 PM.
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 08:45 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 599
Rewards Points: 518
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by Anti-wingnut View Post
Voltage is voltage whether it is between two hot poles or hot and ground
I have wondered about that. Is that true; will everything intended for one work on the other? (obiously 240/120v won't work on straight 240v, but ignoring that).
Toller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 08:45 PM   #25
Close to retirement
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: High Desert, Southern Calif.
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Nope in my case I was refering to our split phase system in the USA where you have two ungrounded conductors with a 240 volt potential between them and an equipment ground. Which most likely is what the OP ordered if it was for use in the USA.
Ok we call that a 2 wire 240 volt circuit. We also normally refer to it as Lines (1&2) because that is how they are listed on wiring diagrams and on the terminals.
Poles are only refered to when speaking of Breakers, Switches, Contacts. Relays or disconnect switches although the terminals are identified by Line 1 and Line 2. I know that technicality they are poles from the generator producing them, but it gets confusing.
JohnnyB60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 08:47 PM   #26
Close to retirement
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: High Desert, Southern Calif.
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by Toller View Post
I have wondered about that. Is that true; will everything intended for one work on the other? (obiously 240/120v won't work on straight 240v, but ignoring that).
What! 240/120 does work on straight 240, you just don't use the neutral.
JohnnyB60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 09:26 PM   #27
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 5,042
Rewards Points: 2,054
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyB60 View Post
Ok we call that a 2 wire 240 volt circuit. We also normally refer to it as Lines (1&2) because that is how they are listed on wiring diagrams and on the terminals.
Poles are only refered to when speaking of Breakers, Switches, Contacts. Relays or disconnect switches although the terminals are identified by Line 1 and Line 2. I know that technicality they are poles from the generator producing them, but it gets confusing.
That's true L1 and L2 are commonly used to identify terminations of a 240 volt circuit.

However we are talking about a cord and plug which will likely not be identified that way but it is irrelevant.

The OP stated that she purchased something from china, she didn't say she purchased it here in the USA. MY take was she ordered something thru a chinese source. MY point is that China uses 220 volts plus a neutral, in the USA we use 120 volts and a neutral or if you prefer it would be more proper to say 120 volts and a grounded leg. China is 50 hz USA is 60
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 09:37 PM   #28
Field Service
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Chicago
Posts: 151
Rewards Points: 81
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyB60 View Post
Ok we call that a 2 wire 240 volt circuit. We also normally refer to it as Lines (1&2) because that is how they are listed on wiring diagrams and on the terminals.
Poles are only refered to when speaking of Breakers, Switches, Contacts. Relays or disconnect switches although the terminals are identified by Line 1 and Line 2. I know that technicality they are poles from the generator producing them, but it gets confusing.
What's confusing about saying single pole 240 or two pole 240?
diystephen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 09:45 PM   #29
Close to retirement
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: High Desert, Southern Calif.
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
That's true L1 and L2 are commonly used to identify terminations of a 240 volt circuit.

However we are talking about a cord and plug which will likely not be identified that way but it is irrelevant.

The OP stated that she purchased something from china, she didn't say she purchased it here in the USA. MY take was she ordered something thru a chinese source. MY point is that China uses 220 volts plus a neutral, in the USA we use 120 volts and a neutral or if you prefer it would be more proper to say 120 volts and a grounded leg. China is 50 hz USA is 60
Well it depends if the item was made for the USA. I have a lot of shop equipment made in china that was built for use in the USA and itís what it says it is. Somehow I have a hard time believing that a item built in China and sent to the US would be anything else.
Now if the OP was actually in China when purchasing it and then had it sent here, that would be another story. But Iím not buying it because it was ordered here and the seller knows itís marked for USA. I buy electrical stuff on eBay from China all the time and never have I gotten anything that was not compatible with USA standards
JohnnyB60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 09:50 PM   #30
Close to retirement
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: High Desert, Southern Calif.
Posts: 40
Rewards Points: 25
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by diystephen View Post
What's confusing about saying single pole 240 or two pole 240?
Well I know the difference, but thats not what a real electrician would say. I've been a licensed electrician for 35 years and I've never heard a electrician refer to it in those terms. Now maybe you do where your from, but not in CA.

Now one might say "single pole 240 relay" or "two pole 240 switch" but never referring to a circuit.


Last edited by JohnnyB60; 02-10-2013 at 09:53 PM.
JohnnyB60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.