Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-10-2013, 10:55 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

is it 110 or 220


I have a machine i ordered from china the cord has 3 prongs and 10a 250v wrote on it.is it 110 or 220?

she777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 11:03 AM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,756
Default

is it 110 or 220


Does the cord cap have a NEMA # ? It's probably 240 volts.

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 11:06 AM   #3
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,854
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by she777 View Post
I have a machine i ordered from china the cord has 3 prongs and 10a 250v wrote on it.is it 110 or 220?
In the USA we have single phase 240 volts over two hot conductors accompanied with a non current carrying ground. This may be what you ordered. The plug is 250 volt rated so it is not a 110 volt plug or it would say so

What is it?

Thing to be careful about is that it is for use in the USA as 250 volts in many places in the world comes over one current carrying conductor and a grounded leg or neutral .. plus a ground .. it is also a 3 prong plug.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 11:36 AM   #4
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,647
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by she777 View Post
I have a machine i ordered from china the cord has 3 prongs and 10a 250v wrote on it.is it 110 or 220?
post a photo of the plug and the "rating plate" on the machine
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 12:02 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: new mexico
Posts: 344
Default

is it 110 or 220


there might also be a wireing diagram plate, if there is a pic of that would help as well.
redman88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 12:09 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,838
Default

is it 110 or 220


Even though most household equipment sold in China is 220 (240?) volt, you should not simply go by the rating of 250 volts stamped on the power plug (cord cap).

You must find out more about the machine. The voltage stamped on the name plate is good enough to rely on.
__________________
Stop wasting time re-adjusting the pattern. Have several lawn sprinklers, one for each pattern.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 02:28 PM   #7
Close to retirement
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: High Desert, Southern Calif.
Posts: 40
Default

is it 110 or 220


Well here in the US you cannot plug rated plug into anything else other than the same rated receptacle. There are different Amperage plugs and the amperage rating has to also match. It could be 20Amp 2-wire or 3-wire with ground or 30 or 50 amp with 2-wire or 3-wire with ground which would be designated buy the NEMA rating

Do not worry about 220, 240, 230 or 250V because it all the same. Manufactures have to overrate the plug to accommodate different areas of the country and the incoming Voltage could be anything. The only cause for concern is when it says 208V because that is probably 3 phase.

I’m pretty sure its 220 and definitely not 110V
JohnnyB60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 06:14 PM   #8
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,756
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnnyB60 View Post
Well here in the US you cannot plug rated plug into anything else other than the same rated receptacle. There are different Amperage plugs and the amperage rating has to also match. It could be 20Amp 2-wire or 3-wire with ground or 30 or 50 amp with 2-wire or 3-wire with ground which would be designated buy the NEMA rating

Do not worry about 220, 240, 230 or 250V because it all the same. Manufactures have to overrate the plug to accommodate different areas of the country and the incoming Voltage could be anything. The only cause for concern is when it says 208V because that is probably 3 phase.

Iím pretty sure its 220 and definitely not 110V
I can easily insert a 15 amp 125 volt plug into a 20 amp 125 volt receptacle.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 06:29 PM   #9
Close to retirement
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: High Desert, Southern Calif.
Posts: 40
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by brric View Post
I can easily insert a 15 amp 125 volt plug into a 20 amp 125 volt receptacle.
Yes you can but you can not insert a 20 amp plug into a 15 amp receptacle. It is allowed to plug a 15amp in a 20 amp circuit as long as its the same voltage range.

Well you got there but that wasn't the question. We were talking about the difference between 110V and 220V. You will not be able to plug ANY 110V, 115V, or 120V INTO a 210V, 220V, or 240V

Last edited by JohnnyB60; 02-10-2013 at 06:32 PM. Reason: Had to put in the volts for the nit pickers
JohnnyB60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 06:40 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 725
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Thing to be careful about is that it is for use in the USA as 250 volts in many places in the world comes over one current carrying conductor and a grounded leg or neutral .. plus a ground .. it is also a 3 prong plug.
Voltage is voltage whether it is between two hot poles or hot and ground
Anti-wingnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 06:49 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 978
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by Anti-wingnut

Voltage is voltage whether it is between two hot poles or hot and ground
But a 240 volt single pole circuit and a 240 volt double pole circuit are each intended for specific equipment/devices.
jlmran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 07:00 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 725
Default

is it 110 or 220


Whats a single pole circuit?

240v hot to ground(ed) looks the same as our standard (US) hot to hot when viewed on an oscilliscope.

Items made specifically for North America will be built for a 240 hot to hot circuit, but other items built with a 240v hot to ground circuit (EU) can still be safely used.

One can also use a single phase of a 240v three-phase system.
Anti-wingnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 07:04 PM   #13
Close to retirement
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: High Desert, Southern Calif.
Posts: 40
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by jlmran View Post
But a 240 volt single pole circuit and a 240 volt double pole circuit are each intended for specific equipment/devices.
I don’t know what you are talking about by 240 volt double pole circuit. Double pole usually means opening both sides such as a contractor or rely. I think you're maybe referring to a 3 wire circuit where you have two lines with 240 volts between them and a neutral wire for 120V.

Last edited by JohnnyB60; 02-10-2013 at 07:13 PM. Reason: Sorry I was trtying to type to fast and got my thought mixed up
JohnnyB60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 07:06 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 725
Default

is it 110 or 220


All circuits except three-phase and short circuits require two poles.
Anti-wingnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 07:07 PM   #15
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,348
Default

is it 110 or 220


Quote:
Originally Posted by Anti-wingnut View Post
Voltage is voltage whether it is between two hot poles or hot and ground
Yes but if plug a 240 hot to ground device into a 240 hot to hot device then you may have just applied 120 volts relative to ground onto the metal framing of the device.

__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.