Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-20-2013, 02:13 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 14
Share |
Default

11.5 amp blender tripping 20 amp circuit breaker


My new Vitamix blender is rated at 11.5 amps, but twice tripped the circuit breaker when I used it for the first time a few days ago. The circuit breaker has the number "20" on the switch; I assume it's a 20 amp breaker.

I plan to talk to Vitamix about this, but would like some feedback from the likelier-to-be impartial forum visitors here: do you think I received a blender with a bad motor? Or are there circumstances in which even a 20 amp circuit might not be enough for a heavy duty blender?

MidgeTenant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 02:22 PM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,822
Default

11.5 amp blender tripping 20 amp circuit breaker


The obvious question is are SURE nothing else is running on that circuit?

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (01-20-2013), stickboy1375 (01-20-2013)
Old 01-20-2013, 02:28 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 122
Default

11.5 amp blender tripping 20 amp circuit breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by MidgeTenant View Post
My new Vitamix blender is rated at 11.5 amps, but twice tripped the circuit breaker when I used it for the first time a few days ago. The circuit breaker has the number "20" on the switch; I assume it's a 20 amp breaker.

I plan to talk to Vitamix about this, but would like some feedback from the likelier-to-be impartial forum visitors here: do you think I received a blender with a bad motor? Or are there circumstances in which even a 20 amp circuit might not be enough for a heavy duty blender?
Does the blender turn at all? Tried a different outlet? Try it without the container and empty.
64pvolvo1800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 05:10 PM   #4
Idiot Emeritus
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Fernley, Nevada (near Reno)
Posts: 1,603
Default

11.5 amp blender tripping 20 amp circuit breaker


If it's an arc-fault breaker, a 11.5 amp universal motor could very well trip it if it's fairly close to the panel and the voltage is on the high side.
micromind is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 06:37 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Posts: 729
Default

11.5 amp blender tripping 20 amp circuit breaker


You may have a bad breaker. If you move the blender to a different circuit, does the breaker on the new circuit trip?
Seattle2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 07:13 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

11.5 amp blender tripping 20 amp circuit breaker


When that breaker trips, what else stops working?

What else is on that circuit and how much amperage are those things?

It is the TOTAL amperage used by ALL appliances on a circuit which causes a breaker to trip. Unlikely just one outlet is on that breaker...
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 07:15 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,486
Default

11.5 amp blender tripping 20 amp circuit breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by MidgeTenant View Post
My new Vitamix blender is rated at 11.5 amps, but twice tripped the circuit breaker when I used it for the first time a few days ago. The circuit breaker has the number "20" on the switch; I assume it's a 20 amp breaker.

I plan to talk to Vitamix about this, but would like some feedback from the likelier-to-be impartial forum visitors here: do you think I received a blender with a bad motor? Or are there circumstances in which even a 20 amp circuit might not be enough for a heavy duty blender?

Is the rating 11.5 amps the running current ?
If so the starting current could be much higher !
You need the correct type of breaker,
One with a slow trip,
these types of breakers are designed to cope with the high start up
currents of a motor.
We call them slow-blow,
I think you guys call them type 2 ?
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 07:57 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,822
Default

11.5 amp blender tripping 20 amp circuit breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
You need the correct type of breaker,
One with a slow trip,
these types of breakers are designed to cope with the high start up
currents of a motor.
We call them slow-blow,
I think you guys call them type 2 ?
Which is every pretty much breaker made in the last 30+ years.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:41 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 14
Default

11.5 amp blender tripping 20 amp circuit breaker


First, thanks to everyone for contributing responses, and I apologize for posting my question without providing enough information the first time.

The Vitamix was definitely the only appliance on that 20 amp circuit; I hooked up an extension cord to run it from a plug in the living room, so it wouldn't have to compete with the fridge in the kitchen. In each case, that living room breaker tripped when I applied more power after the blender had been on for thirty seconds or more. I was mixing up a big batch of some gooey dressing, which is a lot harder for a blender than making a light smoothie.

After the circuit breaker tripped the second time, I moved the Vitamix's extension cord to the circuit that powers the garage wall plugs. A contractor told me awhile ago that these are usually higher amperage than other circuit breakers in a house.

The garage wall plug circuit breaker didn't trip, and I finished making that dressing. When I investigated later, though, I found out that the circuit breaker amp rating was the same: 20 amps for the circuit breaker that tripped, and 20 amps for the breaker that didn't. But -- and I'll bet this is important -- the labels indicate that they're different types of breakers. The living room breaker is labeled AFCI and BRAF. The garage wall plug breaker is labeled BR120.

I gather that AFCI breakers are more sensitive than 'regular' breakers. Still, I'm surprised that an 11.5 amp breaker would trip a breaker rated for 20 amps.

FWIW: the Vitamix 5200 is a big, heavy duty machine, even though it's made for home use.

Thanks again for your help in tracking down this problem.
MidgeTenant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2013, 08:50 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,822
Default

11.5 amp blender tripping 20 amp circuit breaker


That is definitely it. Many AFCI breakers do not play well with motors. Do you really have AFCI breakers protecting kitchen receptacle circuits? If so then that is not required and not really desired.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Speedy Petey For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (01-20-2013), micromind (01-20-2013)
Old 01-20-2013, 09:50 PM   #11
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Default

11.5 amp blender tripping 20 amp circuit breaker


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmxtothemax View Post
Is the rating 11.5 amps the running current ?
If so the starting current could be much higher !
You need the correct type of breaker,
One with a slow trip,
these types of breakers are designed to cope with the high start up
currents of a motor.
We call them slow-blow,
I think you guys call them type 2 ?
Most of the Americiane breakers are class B or C ( more like halfway between the two ) so it pretty common beside the AFCI they are it own legand ( some are good and some are merde. ) But the GFCI's is about pretty close to our RCD's even your verison of RCD's

Merci,
Marc
__________________
The answer will be based on NEC ( National Electrical code ) or CEC ( Cananda Electrical code ) or ECF ( Electrique Code France )
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 09:18 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 14
Default

11.5 amp blender tripping 20 amp circuit breaker


Mystery solved! Thanks very much, Speedy Petey, and everyone else who contributed to this thread.
MidgeTenant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 07:34 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,486
Default

11.5 amp blender tripping 20 amp circuit breaker


Well ! dont leave us in suspense !
What did you do ?
To resolve the issue ?
dmxtothemax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 08:49 PM   #14
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

11.5 amp blender tripping 20 amp circuit breaker


Hope he did not change a combo AFCI for his counter tops to a standard breaker instead of a GFCI
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2013, 10:06 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 14
Default

11.5 amp blender tripping 20 amp circuit breaker


Maybe you'll think I'm an odd one, but I'm going to run the Vitamix from a long extension from the garage wall plugs until I hire an electrician to do something with my circuit panel. (I don't trust myself to do the job on my own.) The 20 amp kitchen circuit is on a regular, non-AFCI breaker, but it already has an 11 amp fridge running on it.

I opened the thread because I had thought something was wrong with the Vitamix's motor. I really like the machine otherwise, so if it's working the way it should I'll hold onto it.

MidgeTenant is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Did My GFCI Circuit Breaker Fail? Jazan Electrical 8 08-04-2012 03:44 PM
breaker keeps tripping RMCarner Electrical 29 07-22-2012 09:53 AM
Kitchen circuit re-design - Existing is a mess darlingm Electrical 5 12-31-2011 09:45 PM
Circuit Breaker Bob Guercio Electrical 10 10-29-2011 03:19 PM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 08:59 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.