Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-20-2013, 09:09 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 122
Share |
Default

100amp fuses to 120 or 200amp breakers?


1400sf bungalow, oil/hot water radiation, no garage, no hot tub or anything abnormal.

I currently have a 100amp fuse panel and would like to upgrade to breakers. Is there any point in upgrading to a 200amp service?

My main concern is selling the house 15 years down the road. Will 200amp be considered standard?

RCGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 09:24 AM   #2
Member
 
jproffer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Chester, IL
Posts: 1,296
Default

100amp fuses to 120 or 200amp breakers?


If 100A is serving you well, I see no reason to go to 200A.

HOWEVER ...future owners might want to add more equipment that would need it.

HOWEVER ...is that your problem? And will that make the house more valuable?

HOWEVER ...if you're changing out the panel anyway. The only additional cost (beyond the fact that a 200A panel costs more than a 100A panel), is changing the meter can and incoming conductors, and probably the service mast (conduit going through the roof).

Lot's to think about...lot of variables.

jproffer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 11:29 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 59
Default

100amp fuses to 120 or 200amp breakers?


My 2 cents.

I recently bought a house. I looked at near 80 houses and many service panels. It definitely is a house buying factor. In my opinion anything with a 100A service gets a pass in my book. 200A is nice and opens the door to central air if its not already there. I stayed away from any houses that still had fuses on the main panel.

My moms house is on a 60AMP service and it sucks. Very easy to overload.

Ultimately I bought a house 1200sqft ranch with a 100A service panel that was maybe 10 years old. With a 100A sub panel that was using fuses. I upgraded the sub panel and everything is fine for my needs. The only items that have any sort of load are an electric range, fridge, freezer, dehumidifier and dryer. I will likely replace the range with a propane stove so really 100A is plenty. Although when my budget allows I will likely invest in central air which will need the 200A service. Or consider the future, plug in cars need like a 40AMP outlet if you want them to charge in a timely fashion.
nowwhatnapster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 11:40 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 122
Default

100amp fuses to 120 or 200amp breakers?


Yea, electric cars is the big thing. It seems to be the direction we're headed.

My neighbourhood has underground wiring if that makes a difference in the amount of work required to switch.
RCGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 12:27 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Default

100amp fuses to 120 or 200amp breakers?


These days homes need to be almost perfect to sell. I don't know what the market will be 15 years from now, but probably a good idea for the home to have as many good features as possible.
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2013, 03:11 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Chicago suburbs
Posts: 214
Default

100amp fuses to 120 or 200amp breakers?


You've got the thread in the project forum... Yeah as much as you have that house torn apart, I'd definitely put in the 200A now. The additional cost is trivial. Someday you'll pull out those baseboard heaters and put in a furnace / AC. That would be one of the first things I do before continuing work on your kitchens and baths.

SquishyBall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
100amp vs 200amp service gbook2 Electrical 6 11-09-2012 03:36 PM
100amp service to 200amp service - double or single panel CapeCod153 Electrical 8 05-09-2012 08:03 PM
100AMP to 200AMP childers2 Electrical 18 02-01-2011 08:19 PM
cost to change 100amp service to 200amp DIYGST Electrical 2 01-02-2010 09:06 AM
100amp to 200amp box JNICO Electrical 6 06-08-2008 03:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.