Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-20-2012, 09:12 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

100amp or 200amp electrical


Should I upgrade to 200amp for a new townhome 2400 sq feet

Shobha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 09:36 AM   #2
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,663
Rewards Points: 0
Default

100amp or 200amp electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by Shobha View Post
Should I upgrade to 200amp for a new townhome 2400 sq feet
Why would you upgrade on a new home?
Has something changed?
---

For someone with an older home being remodeled, or with a deficient panel, or something like that that has them doing a bunch of electrical work anyway... if all of the appliances are gas they shouldn't need to spend for the heavier service wire (and hardware issues) that 200A needs.

But if they NEED to do the service change as well... then sure, go heavy.

TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 09:36 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 219
Rewards Points: 0
Default

100amp or 200amp electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by Shobha View Post
Should I upgrade to 200amp for a new townhome 2400 sq feet

That's a very vague question. You say a new townhome, is it new to you or is it a new construction? Do you have a hot tub or any other heavy draw items? Do you have a gas or electric dryer? It's not worth the cost of the upgrade unless you need the power.
psilva8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 12:09 PM   #4
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,560
Rewards Points: 48
Default

100amp or 200amp electrical


Not without doing a load calculation to see what is required. If you have gas appliances probably not needed.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 12:38 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 0
Default

100amp or 200amp electrical


It is a new construction townhome and the builder is providing 100amp.
200amp is an upgrade with the builder and am not sure if I would need it. There is a gas fireplace, all other electric appliances. No plans for pool or jacuzzi but we want to do up the basement at some point with a living area, bed room and washroom.

will it be problem to have 100amp for resale?

thanks
Shobha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 12:43 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Posts: 219
Rewards Points: 0
Default

100amp or 200amp electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by Shobha View Post
It is a new construction townhome and the builder is providing 100amp.
200amp is an upgrade with the builder and am not sure if I would need it. There is a gas fireplace, all other electric appliances. No plans for pool or jacuzzi but we want to do up the basement at some point with a living area, bed room and washroom.

will it be problem to have 100amp for resale?

thanks
I wouldn't hesitate to buy a home with only 100amp. There was a time when getting a home with 100amps was a bonus compared to the 60amp services back in the day. With that being said, if the upgrade was only 500-1000 bucks and I could include it in my mortgage, I might just do it.
psilva8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 01:05 PM   #7
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,663
Rewards Points: 0
Default

100amp or 200amp electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by Shobha View Post
(2400sf) and all electric appliances.
100 Amps is probably the bare minimum the County will allow.
You're caught in a cheap builder add on game.

The house still should have 200A to begin with at no "extra charge".
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 01:20 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,497
Rewards Points: 0
Default

100amp or 200amp electrical


Electric cars are on the way. An electric car charger can draw 70 amps!
His car
Her car
Son's car
Daughter's car
Billy_Bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 01:42 PM   #9
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,158
Rewards Points: 72
Default

100amp or 200amp electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy_Bob
Electric cars are on the way. An electric car charger can draw 70 amps!
His car
Her car
Son's car
Daughter's car
Until they become cost effective, theywill always be a pipe dream to die, like 3d TV.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 01:42 PM   #10
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,841
Rewards Points: 38
Default

100amp or 200amp electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by Billy_Bob View Post
Electric cars are on the way. An electric car charger can draw 70 amps!
His car
Her car
Son's car
Daughter's car
Seriously?
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 01:43 PM   #11
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,841
Rewards Points: 38
Default

100amp or 200amp electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
100 Amps is probably the bare minimum the County will allow.
You're caught in a cheap builder add on game.

The house still should have 200A to begin with at no "extra charge".
100A is the bare minimum ANY code will allow.

I don't know how a 2400 sq/ft home can get away with a 100A service in today's world. I'd like to see the demand load numbers.

I FULLY agree with the last sentence! It is a builder's trick to show a low number for the contract, but than make something "standard" an extra.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 01:59 PM   #12
Member
 
Ironlight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 701
Rewards Points: 0
Default

100amp or 200amp electrical


The cost of 200amp over 100amp in yet-unbuilt construction should be pretty minimal...the 200 amp panel and the entrance cabling. The real cost of heavying up to 200amp service is in the labor for replacing the panel and all the breakers and running the new cabling in an existing home. If it's not even in yet, the difference in cost should be minimal.

If it's a couple of hundred bucks, which it should be, then I would go ahead and do it for the simple fact that to do it later would cost you north of $1,200 or so depending on your location.

And yeah, 200 amp is the standard today. Anyone trying to charge you for 200 amp over 100 amp in new construction is putting you on notice that they are probably trying to scam you in other ways as well.
Ironlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 04:11 PM   #13
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,158
Rewards Points: 72
Default

100amp or 200amp electrical


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Seriously?
Didn't you know that everyone is buying electric vehicles now. That is what the car manufacturers want you to know, along with the politicos.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2012, 06:39 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Huntsville, AL USA
Posts: 229
Rewards Points: 0
Default

100amp or 200amp electrical


OP, where are you located? Here, we have to have air conditioning, and 200A is a necessity.
fa_f3_20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2012, 09:27 AM   #15
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 0
Default

100amp or 200amp electrical


LOL…Are you serious? Must be one heck of an air conditioner.

Of course every situation is different and no blanket statement can cover everything, but I would venture to say that if people would do a load calculation on their homes, most would find that a 150A service is more than adequate, including some future additions, and many can get by with 125A or sometimes even 100A.

I scratch my head and laugh when my boss sends me to install a 200A service in a 1000 sq ft, all gas home for example. Bigger is better I guess….gotta keep up with the Jones’.

__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electrical Questions from a Foreigner mark_anderson_u Electrical 4 09-10-2010 06:46 AM
For stacked dryer/washer - where to locate electrical outlets and water supply lines Cliffhanger Electrical 3 09-05-2010 09:48 AM
Electrical Panel Upgrade & Main Water Shut Off DIYerIT Electrical 2 09-02-2010 02:42 PM
Changing from Electrical Cook Top to Electrical Range EkS Electrical 24 06-22-2010 10:43 AM
Just for fun Andy in ATL Electrical 56 10-20-2009 09:33 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.