Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-25-2011, 06:29 PM   #1
Saftety First!
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 75
Default

100A Service


These are pictures of the electric service where I live. In the outside (main) disconnect
the neutral looks to be tied together and bonded to the ground bar with a split bolt connector. ( I guess that satisfies the code requirement for bonding at the first disconnect, although I'm not so sure about the wiring method). The conductors don't look any larger than number 3AWG ( I can't see any size on the wire). And the grounding conductor looks to be 6AWG solid bare. But there is no grounding conductor running with the conductors to the main panel in the basement. (The main breaker panel in the basement is located more than 8 feet from the service conductor entrance into the house. That is the reason for
the outside service disconnect.)
So in the breaker panel, all of the branch circuit grounds and neutrals are tied to the neutral bars. Shouldn't there be a ground wire run with the service conductors to the panel
connected to a separate ground bar in the panel? The ground should not be bonded to the neutral in the panel of course, but shouldn't there still be a separate ground bar for all the equipment grounds to attach? It seems to me that this panel is not grounded at all since the raceway to the panel is PVC.
Attached Images
   

loyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 07:09 PM   #2
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,951
Rewards Points: 2,158
Default

100A Service


If the conduit from the disconnect to the panel is pvc why is there a bonding bushing at the disconnect?

brric is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 07:14 PM   #3
Saftety First!
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 75
Default

100A Service


Doesn't the neutral need to be bonded to ground and the enclosure at the first disconnect?

But doesn't my breaker panel in the house still need a ground connection?
loyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 07:19 PM   #4
Saftety First!
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 75
Default

100A Service


I understand the question now. Sorry I'm so slow. The conduit at the disconnect is EMT but switches to PVC at the LB that goes into the outside wall. (It's just below the disconnect but not in the photo). I believe that the PVC is visible in the panel picture though.
loyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 07:20 PM   #5
Saftety First!
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 75
Default

100A Service


I'm wrong again! You cannot tell it is PVC from the photo!
loyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 07:47 PM   #6
Saftety First!
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 75
Default

100A Service


Ok. Charged up camera. Here is photo of breaker panel top.
Attached Images
 
loyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 07:54 PM   #7
Saftety First!
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 75
Default

100A Service


Here is another view of raceway into panel.

bad picture.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by loyal; 07-25-2011 at 07:55 PM. Reason: bad picture
loyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 08:22 PM   #8
Saftety First!
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 75
Default

100A Service


Better picture.
Attached Images
 
loyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 08:29 PM   #9
Saftety First!
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 75
Default

100A Service


I'm thinking that I might need to run a green 6AWG from ground bar in disconnect along with the conductors to my panel. Thing is, this little disconnect box is packed already. Does anyone have any thoughts on this??
loyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 08:54 PM   #10
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,451
Rewards Points: 502
Default

100A Service


Pulling the ground into that outside disco won’t be any fun with the cramped quarters in the bottom. Meter should be pulled too when it’s done. I’d consider replacing the outside disconnect in addition, personally.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2011, 08:58 PM   #11
Master Electrician
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 2,951
Rewards Points: 2,158
Default

100A Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by loyal View Post
I'm thinking that I might need to run a green 6AWG from ground bar in disconnect along with the conductors to my panel. Thing is, this little disconnect box is packed already. Does anyone have any thoughts on this??
Agreed. As to your original query, yes, the neutrals and equipment grounds should be isolated from each other in the panel.
brric is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to brric For This Useful Post:
loyal (07-26-2011)
Old 07-25-2011, 09:48 PM   #12
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

100A Service


You said "where I live"....is this your home or a rental?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 08:14 AM   #13
Saftety First!
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 75
Default

100A Service


"Pulling the ground into that outside disco wont be any fun with the cramped quarters in the bottom. Meter should be pulled too when its done. Id consider replacing the outside disconnect in addition, personally."

I did think about replacing that box, but could not see anything on-line that would work.
loyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 08:18 AM   #14
Saftety First!
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 75
Default

100A Service


What if I replaced all that PVC pipe with EMT? Would I still need the green ground?
(I'm thinking I would still need the ground).
loyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2011, 08:53 AM   #15
Saftety First!
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 85
Rewards Points: 75
Default

100A Service


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
You said "where I live"....is this your home or a rental?
As the story goes, this house belonged to my wife's grandparents. After they died, the house became a rental property, owned by my wife's father. Years later, the house burned, but the frame was still there. It sat for a few years until my wife married her first husband and the house was given to her by her father. Wife's husband repaired the burned house, including new plumbing, boiler heating system and electrical. He did all the work himself. He is a carpenter and in my opinion, a good one. The plumbing, electrical, and heating all function but, in my opinion, well I could attach more pictures if you'd like.
An example would be the 110V receptacles. I've had to replace a few worn out ones.
The wires in the boxes are all cut flush with the wall with the ends stripped and stabbed into the back of the receptacle. The stab connector can't be released because you can't get behind the receptacle because the leads are two short. So the leads have to be cut
even shorter to remove the recept. And of course they are all the small metal boxes. No grounding pigtail and no ground wire to the receptacle.
Perhaps you can understand that just trying to do simple maintenance on this house becomes a reconstruction project.

loyal is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
Service mast options bsperr Electrical 6 12-09-2009 09:48 AM
Remodel - Moving from 200 amp service to 320 amps stevedar Electrical 20 11-29-2009 09:14 PM
updating 100A Service gnharrold Electrical 9 12-28-2008 12:48 AM
Grounding for two service entrances to same house. jogr Electrical 18 09-24-2008 11:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.