Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-11-2009, 11:16 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 72
Share |
Default

100A pannel question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
So what I'm saying is that one pole of the double pole (green) and that 1/2" single pole share the same bus tab same thing with the 1/2" single pole above the new (green double pole). But you do create two 1/2" single pole spaces...one above and one below the new 1/2 size double.
Would that be a "problem" then? What are the implications of doing this?
unixb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 11:20 AM   #17
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

100A pannel question


It appears to be a 16/32 panel as it is configured so it will take 16 full size or 32 half size breakers.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 11:22 AM   #18
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

100A pannel question


Quote:
Originally Posted by unixb0y View Post
Would that be a "problem" then? What are the implications of doing this?
Its no problem at all...just pointing out that the 1/2" doubles install in 1/2 of two different bus stabs.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 11:27 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 72
Default

100A pannel question


Quote:
Originally Posted by Stubbie View Post
Its no problem at all...just pointing out that the 1/2" doubles install in 1/2 of two different bus stabs.
I wonder why they would design it that way.
unixb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2009, 12:14 PM   #20
UAW SKILLED TRADES
 
Stubbie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Kansas
Posts: 4,834
Default

100A pannel question


Other manufacturers do the same thing, it allows you to install a double pole breaker in situations where you cannot fit a full size and provides for more single pole spaces for 120 volt branch circuits. Take your panel at present it is full. If I take out the two full size doubles on the top left and bottom left column and replace them with 1/2 size doubles I will create 4 spaces for 120 volt branch circuits.
__________________
" One nice thing about the NEC articles ... you have lots of choices"

Stubbie
Stubbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Understanding 120V branch loads in 100A 240V system WaldenL Electrical 17 02-17-2009 09:15 AM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 08:19 AM
New service Question Onytay Electrical 1 10-24-2007 05:47 AM
One furnace question and one thermostat question lh0628 HVAC 4 10-11-2007 10:17 PM
Wiring 100A subpanel nebulous Electrical 9 08-29-2007 02:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.