100 Amps On A Stove Wire? - Electrical - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2009, 11:16 AM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

100 amps on a stove wire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
Once again, unless you are en engineer, who cares???
The OP asked. . .
I guess the general answer is that any cable can carry any current depending on how long you need it to carry that current and what cable temp. you want.
Sorry about the info overload.

Advertisement


Last edited by Yoyizit; 09-26-2009 at 11:37 AM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 02:02 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

100 amps on a stove wire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Scuba_Dave View Post
Yes, I used #6 to run a 60a sub to my pool cabana
2 #6 hots, white #6 neutral, #8 green ground
You only needed a #10 for the ECG. Table 250-95
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 02:50 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

100 amps on a stove wire?


Yeah, the price wasn't that much more for the #8...pennies
So I just bought the #8
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 05:23 PM   #19
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,221
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

100 amps on a stove wire?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
The OP asked. . .
I guess the general answer is that any cable can carry any current depending on how long you need it to carry that current and what cable temp. you want.
Sorry about the info overload.
Yeah I should have specified I wanted to know what the code says not what can be done. Anything can be done. Whether or not it's safe and to code is another story.

Advertisement

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Burial wire and a seeming difference of opinion... SxS Electrical 19 02-24-2009 10:16 AM
hooking up dryer....bronx ny code SURFBUG Appliances 6 10-14-2008 10:41 PM
Amps on only ground? - Danger? jamiedolan Electrical 6 09-21-2008 05:55 PM
Overheated Wire Connections In Stove Top chef Electrical 5 09-06-2008 07:35 AM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 09:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts