Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-10-2011, 10:22 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

100 amp vs 200 amp service


My Mom has a small house with 100 amp service. She added air conditioning about 10 yrs ago and now is being told she needs 200 amp service. When the air conditioner comes on no lights flicker and no appliances short out. Does she need 200 amp service?

curious2! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 10:38 AM   #2
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,684
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

100 amp vs 200 amp service


The proper way to determine a service size is to perform a demand load calculation.

Who is telling her she needs to upgrade and what criteria are they using?

__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 10:49 AM   #3
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,857
Rewards Points: 2,110
Default

100 amp vs 200 amp service


Who told her and why did they tell her that.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 11:41 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

100 amp vs 200 amp service


Thank you both for your reply. My Sister's boyfriend is an electrician and he told us that. He said that her lights probably flicker when the air conditioner is turned on. To my knowledge he didn't do a demand load calculation.

How is the demand load calculation done? Do you just add the amp ratings of the items connected to the breaker panel?

My Mom's house is probably 1000 sq ft estimate. My home is 2400 sq ft and has 200 amp service. I thought a smaller house would demand less.
curious2! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 11:46 AM   #5
Licensed electrician
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Maryland
Posts: 7,684
Rewards Points: 2,166
Default

100 amp vs 200 amp service


A demand load calculation takes into consideration the square footage of the house and the loads applied by the appliances, heating, air conditioning etc.

I doubt your mom needs an upgrade.
__________________
Answers based on the National Electrical Code. Local amendments may apply. Check with your local building officials.
Jim Port is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 11:58 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

100 amp vs 200 amp service


"if it ain't broke, don't fix it"

Unless there is not an issue, a coming addition to the electric load, or other addititive factor - the current 100a serive is likely fine.
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 12:08 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Central Indiana (USA)
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 500
Default

100 amp vs 200 amp service


sister's boyfriend wants some money. Is he a licensed Electrician who does this work for a living? Journeyman, Master?
sirsparksalot is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to sirsparksalot For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (06-10-2011)
Old 06-10-2011, 03:42 PM   #8
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

100 amp vs 200 amp service


Quote:
Originally Posted by sirsparksalot View Post
sister's boyfriend wants some money. Is he a licensed Electrician who does this work for a living? Journeyman, Master?
Yup, the dude is talkin' out of his butt. He is trying to impress you guys with his vast electrical knowledge.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2011, 06:37 PM   #9
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

100 amp vs 200 amp service


Quote:
Originally Posted by curious2! View Post
Thank you both for your reply. My Sister's boyfriend is an electrician and he told us that. He said that her lights probably flicker when the air conditioner is turned on. To my knowledge he didn't do a demand load calculation.
Why did the subject even come up?
Or is Speedy right:
Quote:
He is trying to impress you guys with his vast electrical knowledge.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 05:14 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

100 amp vs 200 amp service


Thanks for all the replies. My Mom's house needs some maintenance done before we put it on the market to be sold. She is older and my Sister and I don't want her living alone anymore. This is why this issue came up.

I had a bad feeling in my gutt about the reasons why he was pushing the electrical issue. I am not a licensed electrician, but I have enough common sense to know when I am being had. He has since backed off and I think I found a good guy to tackle all the maintenance that needs done.
curious2! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 05:58 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Posts: 6,964
Rewards Points: 2,024
Default

100 amp vs 200 amp service


If she has an electric water heate and it comes on at the same time the air conditioning is on and she also has something baking in the oven then there could be dimming and flickering. But using just a few thhings at a time the 100 amp service will still work.

Yes a 100 amp service in a house needing a 200 amp service can detract from resale value.

fOR PLUG IN AIR CONDITIONING iT IS NOT legally mandatory TO GET A PERMIT OR UPGRADE THE PANEL unless you are overloading things due to usage.
anyone got a quick caps lock fixiner without retyping it?
__________________
Forget super sized fries. The Washington Redskins could promote healthy eating with First Lady Obama by choosing a (red skinned) turnip for a mascot.

Last edited by AllanJ; 06-11-2011 at 06:00 AM.
AllanJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 06:10 AM   #12
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

100 amp vs 200 amp service


Quote:
Originally Posted by AllanJ View Post
anyone got a quick caps lock fixiner without retyping it?
No, but I have a keyboard key re-mapper to get RID of capslock completely.

I turned mine into another tab key.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 08:51 AM   #13
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 500
Default

100 amp vs 200 amp service


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
...I turned mine into another tab key.
I like it !!
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SD515 For This Useful Post:
Speedy Petey (06-11-2011)
Old 06-11-2011, 09:18 AM   #14
Member
 
Ironlight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Washington DC
Posts: 701
Rewards Points: 500
Default

100 amp vs 200 amp service


He may not be the villain everyone is making him out to be. 200 amp service is pretty standard these days and when it comes to selling her house, 100 amp service may be perceived as a shortcoming by potential buyers. That said, it's not *that* much of a shortcoming and money put into upgrading other parts of the house, such as the bathrooms or the kitchen, or a nice coat of paint will have a larger ROI in terms of sale price.

Professionals often have idealized notions of what is "standard" in their area. Dental hygenists would have you flossing three times a day if they had their way. Pest control experts would have you pull out every shrub around your house and surround it with a 3' concrete apron (no joke, I had one suggest that to me once). So just because he thinks she needs to heavy up is not a sign that he is some money grubbing scoundrel. Not by itself at least
Ironlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2011, 10:12 AM   #15
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,858
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

100 amp vs 200 amp service


Quote:
Originally Posted by Ironlight View Post
He may not be the villain everyone is making him out to be. 200 amp service is pretty standard these days and when it comes to selling her house, 100 amp service may be perceived as a shortcoming by potential buyers.
Who said anything about her selling the house? The situation is existing. The A/C is existing (10 years old according to the OP). There are no existing problems (according to the OP).
The only thing new it seems is the boyfriend.

Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New service Help (Meter can/ service mast Conduit help) cwolford Electrical 13 03-26-2011 07:55 PM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
Service mast options bsperr Electrical 6 12-09-2009 08:48 AM
Remodel - Moving from 200 amp service to 320 amps stevedar Electrical 20 11-29-2009 08:14 PM
Grounding for two service entrances to same house. jogr Electrical 18 09-24-2008 10:31 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.