Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-22-2009, 08:11 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

100 amp sub panel


Just had the main service panel in the basement upgraded from 100 to 200 amp. The old panel was totally inadequate and outdated. The new panel, Square D QO model is great.
Want to upgrade the old service panel in the garage to 100 amp sub panel. The panel in the garage is a fused type. Soooo, what size wire do I need to run from the 200 amp panel to the 100 amp? I have a small mig welder, 220, and lights and outlets garage door openers, etc....
Thanks

Donald A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2009, 09:14 AM   #2
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 0
Default

100 amp sub panel


# 2 wire in conduit, but easier to use something like 2/0 SEU cable or get some #2MC cable from an electrical supply house

Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2009, 11:08 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,506
Rewards Points: 0
Default

100 amp sub panel


This is a hot topic on this forum. There is more information on sub panels here than anywhere else I know of. Just use the search function on the top of this page and you could read about sub install for weeks.
If you still have questions, please let us know. We are glad to help.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2009, 07:24 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 0
Default

100 amp sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Mariani View Post
# 2 wire in conduit, but easier to use something like 2/0 SEU cable or get some #2MC cable from an electrical supply house
Thanks for the information. Looks like I will need to do some research as I don't have a clue what you just said.
Donald A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2009, 07:26 PM   #5
Remodeling Contractor
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 3,590
Rewards Points: 0
Default

100 amp sub panel


yes read up on all different ideas. What I am saying is that different wires are used for different installation requirements. You need to post what the conditions are before we can narrow down an answer
Bob Mariani is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2009, 07:26 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 0
Default

100 amp sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
This is a hot topic on this forum. There is more information on sub panels here than anywhere else I know of. Just use the search function on the top of this page and you could read about sub install for weeks.
If you still have questions, please let us know. We are glad to help.
I will use the search function as suggested, thank you.
Donald A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 06:20 AM   #7
Gettin' Electrified
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Rock Falls
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 0
Default

100 amp sub panel


This is a great topic! I was wondering the same thing
Chris-D is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 02:01 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 0
Default

100 amp sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Donald A View Post
Just had the main service panel in the basement upgraded from 100 to 200 amp. The old panel was totally inadequate and outdated. The new panel, Square D QO model is great.
Want to upgrade the old service panel in the garage to 100 amp sub panel. The panel in the garage is a fused type. Soooo, what size wire do I need to run from the 200 amp panel to the 100 amp? I have a small mig welder, 220, and lights and outlets garage door openers, etc....
Thanks
I'd get rid of the fused panel
A breaker sub panel isn't that expensive
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2009, 03:15 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 0
Default

100 amp sub panel


Installing a new 100 amp panel is the plan. Just need to get the panel, fuses and wire.
Donald A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2009, 12:29 AM   #10
DIY Junkie!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: split between Houston, TX and SW KS.
Posts: 223
Rewards Points: 0
Default

100 amp sub panel


Quote:
Originally Posted by Donald A View Post
Installing a new 100 amp panel is the plan. Just need to get the panel, fuses and wire.
I recently upgraded the electrical service to an old family home from 100 amp overhead to 200 amp underground. In addition, I had a direct run of wire laid from the meter box to the garage, and installed a 100 amp service panel there. It's relatively straight-forward, not exactly a drop in but I had more difficulty mounting the box than wiring it when it was finished. The Home Depot 100 amp service panel has spaces for 30 circuits (I think that's right, but the location is about 800 miles away right now so I can't check, sorry). I felt that was more than adequate for the limited amount of lighting and electrical usage the garage would get, not much right now and when I want to expand, like add an electric kiln for ceramics projects, there's potential there......all in all an easy project.

The new install on the garage was most certainly easier than the replacement of the old 100 amp service panel in the house with a 200 amp/40 circuit model.....I almost had to splice wires in, some of the existing wiring was pretty short, but in the end I managed.

There was no requirement in this area for a grounding rod. Got lucky there !

Good luck and let us know how it goes, please!

Dugly

YerDugliness is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 10:39 PM
Adding a second Electric sub panel TW Lucas Electrical 9 10-05-2008 02:37 AM
Replacement Meter Panel leonard_voet Electrical 19 04-09-2008 10:27 AM
Installing new (service?) breaker panel and generator panel Nhrafan Electrical 6 04-01-2008 03:03 PM
turn main panel into a sub panel? tikicarver Electrical 2 01-24-2008 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.