Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-16-2008, 02:50 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

100 AMP service to barn


Electrician suggested using #1 Copper, 3 wires for 100 AMP going 245' placing in 2" schedule 80. Grounding at Barn. #1 Copper to allow correct voltage drop.

Let's see if I understand correctly:
100 AMP Breaker at Panel in house

100 AMP Shut Off Box in house (separate from panel) Note: barn can be shut off at Shut off w/o interupting main 200 AMP panel
I have two 200 AMP panels in home. One panel is nearly empty.

100 AMP Breaker Panel in Barn with Main Switch to kill power while in barn.

Uses will only be a few lights, stock tank heater and welder. Heat by wood only.

Does this sound like it will work? I am trenching, placing water first, then conduit on Friday Oct.17, 2008

tripelranch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2008, 05:55 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,864
Rewards Points: 2,032
Default

100 AMP service to barn


Quote:
Originally Posted by tripelranch View Post
Electrician suggested using #1 Copper, 3 wires for 100 AMP going 245' placing in 2" schedule 80. Grounding at Barn. #1 Copper to allow correct voltage drop.
OK, but what code cycle are you under. The 2008 NEC removed the allowance of a 3-wire feeder.
A 4-wire feeder is IMO a better installation anyway.
A ground rod at a detached structure with a feeder is mandatory in either case.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tripelranch View Post
Let's see if I understand correctly:
100 AMP Breaker at Panel in house
Ok. Fine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tripelranch View Post
100 AMP Shut Off Box in house (separate from panel) Note: barn can be shut off at Shut off w/o interupting main 200 AMP panel
WHY bother with this. It is COMPLETELY unnecessary. A 100A breaker in the 200A panel is all you need. There is NO need to shut off the 200A panel to shut off the 100A feeder breaker.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tripelranch View Post
100 AMP Breaker Panel in Barn with Main Switch to kill power while in barn.
Good. A shut off is required at the barn and a main breaker is the easiest way to achieve this.

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remodel - Moving from 200 amp service to 320 amps stevedar Electrical 20 11-29-2009 08:14 PM
Grounding for two service entrances to same house. jogr Electrical 18 09-24-2008 10:31 AM
2 100 amp services in a barn maticus Electrical 24 01-03-2008 11:32 AM
200 amp panel with a 100 amp service? alexz Electrical 10 07-29-2007 10:00 PM
electrical service to barn bsteven Electrical 1 04-18-2005 08:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.