100 AMP Service - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2006, 12:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

100 AMP Service


I have 100 amp service in my house. I want to install a sub panel. The new panel has 12 new circuits, but is labeled 125 amp main lug load center by Cutler Hammer. Does the 25 amp difference make a "difference"? The model is CH12L125BP.

Advertisement

ffgus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2006, 02:29 PM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,961
Rewards Points: 2,318
Default

100 AMP Service


No. The sub is rated for up to 125. You can put anything into you want as long as it does not exceed the rating. You may be limited by the main panel as to the size of breaker to feed the sub with.

Advertisement

__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
200 Amp service really needed for a 830 sq ft house? overkill? alexz Electrical 7 11-16-2009 06:54 PM
200 amp panel with a 100 amp service? alexz Electrical 10 07-29-2007 11:00 PM
upgrading service cable Clutchcargo Electrical 1 06-22-2007 11:04 AM
Service upgrade rondo Electrical 1 05-21-2007 07:19 PM
Suspected open/loose service neutral mrtomwj Electrical 5 09-28-2006 09:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts