Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-15-2008, 06:11 PM   #1
Electro/Mechanical Tech

Rewards Points: 10

100 amp Safety Disconnect switch

Hellow my name is Alvin I am working on electrical service at a 2 family 3 business building in Brooklyn NY. I was told by a fellow contractor that any building over 3 meters requires a 100 amp Safety Disconnect switch between the main service entrance box and the multimeter pannel. I was highered to replace light fixtures outlets and switches. Con Ed told the customer they needed to higher an electrician to repair/upgrade their service in the basement.The person who told me this info is a licensed Electrician. He is going to be overseeing the work if not do the job him self. A permit is going to be aqquired by this person. I am just seeking a second opinion. I am highly qualified, but I do not work solely as an electrician. I am an Electrician apprentice. I was asked by the customer about this work and I called the licensed electrical contractor, he visited the site. He checked with con ed, spoke to an inspector and was to thats what this building needed. I am just present trying to learn something. But it is being handled properly by the right people. I am a electrical tech of 25 + years. I feel I can do various things but I learned a long time ago if you do not know about something ask. Thats all I am doing. But this call is being handled properly. Someone installed the system without the safety disconnect and it's been that way for years? I called The electrician!

Thank for all concerns

AB

Last edited by alvinbga; 05-15-2008 at 11:16 PM.
alvinbga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2008, 06:18 PM   #2
Electrician

Rewards Points: 518

Quote:
Originally Posted by alvinbga View Post