100 Amp Hook Up - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-16-2011, 04:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

100 amp hook up


Where does the black gray neutral wire get hooked to in the pannel box

Advertisement

STUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 04:34 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

100 amp hook up


Im wireing my detached garage and ran 2-2-2-4 alum wire 120ft in conduit. Im at the stage of hooking it up in the 100amp box. I found the black- white- ground but no where to hook up the neutral. Any answers

Advertisement

STUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 05:08 PM   #3
Mad Scientist
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 774
Rewards Points: 516
Default

100 amp hook up


I'm not sure I entirely understand your situation; a picture might help.

If this is a subpanel, neutral connects to the neutral bar, which must not be bonded to the metal box. Ground goes to a ground bar you will probably have to purchase separately and screw into the panel.
McSteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 05:35 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

100 amp hook up


Quote:
Originally Posted by STUS View Post
Im wireing my detached garage and ran 2-2-2-4 alum wire 120ft in conduit. Im at the stage of hooking it up in the 100amp box. I found the black- white- ground but no where to hook up the neutral. Any answers
What type of wire was this? Type SE-R, or URD?

There should be a black, red stripe, white stripe, and green stripe conductors if you used type URD cable. The black and red connect to the two line terminals in your sub-panel. The white connects to the neutral bar, and the green to the grounding bar.

There should also be a grounding electrode conductor on the ground bar as well.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2011, 10:51 PM   #5
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

100 amp hook up


Quote:
Originally Posted by STUS View Post
Im wireing my detached garage and ran 2-2-2-4 alum wire 120ft in conduit. Im at the stage of hooking it up in the 100amp box. I found the black- white- ground but no where to hook up the neutral. Any answers
If you have a black wire with a white tracer, it is the neutral.
Also, in addition to the other postings, what size breaker are you connection to in the main panel?

Last edited by a7ecorsair; 05-16-2011 at 10:54 PM.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 09:41 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

100 amp hook up


Thanks for all the help. My breaker is 100 amp 8 circuit square d box. And the wire has black white green and black with a gray stripe. Which i know is the neutral. So your saying that this gets hooked to a non metal surface in the box?. Ill take another look and see what i can find.
STUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 10:37 AM   #7
Electromagician
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 79
Rewards Points: 75
Default

100 amp hook up


I smell smoke.
powerfactor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 11:52 AM   #8
I ask the impossible!
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Royal Oak, Michigan
Posts: 1,074
Rewards Points: 508
Blog Entries: 7
Default

100 amp hook up


Ok, this sounds a lot like part of my project but I'm using an 8 space load panel where I'm using a 20 space panel... And using smaller cable, I'll get to that.

First of all, it looks like you've probably got Square D Homeline? Just wanted to check because they have 2 lines, one is Homeline and the other is QO. I'm using a Homeline panel so if that's what you have then I can refer to my own stuff. Also, I saw they have 8 space main lug and main breaker, this needs to be main breaker so you have a main shutoff in the garage.

Your original question is a little unclear if you're asking about the connections at the house end or the garage end, it sounds like you are asking about the garage end, but it also sounds like you need guidance for both ends.

First, it sounds to me like you have black and black with gray stripe which should be your two hot conductors. White should be neutral. Green should be ground.

On the top of the main breaker there are lugs for each hot on the outside. In the center is the lug for attaching the white neutral wire. 2 bus bars should be near the sides of the panel and one should have a lug on it for attaching your ground.

http://static.schneider-electric.us/...R9601R1003.pdf

On the other end of your cable in the house, your green ground again attaches to the ground bus bar and the white attaches to the neutral bus bar. You might have to get larger lugs that attach to the bus bar because 2 gage might be too big for the screws in the bus bar. Your black and black with gray stripe hots go into the 2-pole breaker on your panel.

2 gage aluminum is not big enough for 100 amps. You can use the 100 amp panel, but the breaker in your house will have to be 90 amps or smaller. At 120 feet you might have voltage drop issues which might require the breaker to be smaller, my garage is only 30 feet from the house and I don't have to factor that in... Somebody else would have to speak to that. Table 310.16 applies and your probably going to need the 75 degree column...

I'm assuming you have a permit and there will be inspection, folks tend to be more comfortable answering questions when that is acknowledged.
__________________
Please do NOT consider any "before" picture of my house as any kind of endorsement of any particular construction method. In fact, you should probably assume that if I post a "before" picture, I am posting it because I am soliciting advice on a proper replacement for one of MANY things done wrong by a previous owner.
WillK is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2011, 12:41 PM   #9
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

100 amp hook up


Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
What size breaker are you connection to in the main panel?
You didn't answer this question. We know you have a 100 amp panel but what size breaker in you main panel will you be connecting this wire to?

Advertisement

a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
3 prong cord hook up desperado Electrical 9 12-30-2010 08:01 PM
Andersen Door Hook Latch Problem magic1whiz General DIY Discussions 1 12-09-2009 07:03 AM
3 ph compressor hook up psgstl Electrical 16 06-12-2009 09:37 AM
Wood furnace with domestic hot water - how to hook up the hot water? CowboyAndy Plumbing 6 05-22-2008 01:36 PM
Water softener hook up piping? coyote556 Plumbing 1 09-12-2007 08:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts