100-amp Breaker Wireing - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-09-2011, 02:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

100-amp breaker wireing


i have 60-amp run out of 200-amp to inside of house to 125-amp load center. i like to put 100-amp breaker in place of the 60amp. i have 6-3 wire now. can ichange this if so what size wire do i use.

thanks

Advertisement

27630 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 02:51 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Southern California
Posts: 71
Rewards Points: 75
Default

100-amp breaker wireing


Greetings and welcome!

First, regarding the 125A load center (sub panel), is that the panel rating, or the load center's main breaker (if it has one, not required if both panels are in the same structure). If the sub panel does have a main it cannot be rated higher than the breaker in the main panel, currently 60A

#6 copper is required for 60A, if you want to change to 100A you will need #3 copper. What are you planning to use that will need 100A? That is a lot of capacity (24KW!)

Advertisement

FixitDragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2011, 06:18 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

100-amp breaker wireing


Quote:
Originally Posted by FixitDragon View Post
Greetings and welcome!

First, regarding the 125A load center (sub panel), is that the panel rating, or the load center's main breaker (if it has one, not required if both panels are in the same structure). If the sub panel does have a main it cannot be rated higher than the breaker in the main panel, currently 60A

#6 copper is required for 60A, if you want to change to 100A you will need #3 copper. What are you planning to use that will need 100A? That is a lot of capacity (24KW!)

add 600 sq ft to house just thouth i needed more amp
the sub panal rating 125-amp. no breaker in it
27630 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
Replacing and Moving a Fuse box with a breaker box nightrook Electrical 18 09-24-2009 08:49 PM
I can "double" the wires to each breaker in my breaker panel right? Piedmont Electrical 40 10-01-2008 12:18 PM
20 Amp Breaker tripping with GFCI panhandlion Electrical 7 12-12-2007 09:59 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 06:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts