10 VAC When Breaker Off - Electrical - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-17-2014, 02:05 PM   #1
hobbsInVancouver
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

10 VAC when breaker off


Hi. I've been replacing the outlets in my home for years, as I redo rooms I put in the new outlets, the old ones have no ground and are ugly.

Anyway, I noticed the hot wire in a couple of outlets still have 10 VAC charge to them even though the breaker is off. Turning off the breaker above the one with the 10 VAC charge reduced the charge to about 4 VAC. Should I be concerned? Is this indicative of shoddy electrical or something that can happen depending on the layout of the circuits used?

Cheers,

c.

Advertisement

hobbs in vanvouver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 04:06 PM   #2
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,221
Rewards Points: 2,020
Default

10 VAC when breaker off


Try to put a load on it to see what happens. (incad. bulb should do) Sounds like it may just be phantom voltage.

Advertisement

Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 05:48 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sk. Canada
Posts: 422
Rewards Points: 256
Default

10 VAC when breaker off


What type of tester are you using? Is there a ground available in the box or are you using ungrounded receptacles?
daveb1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 05:56 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Cairns Australia
Posts: 2,704
Rewards Points: 2,368
Default

10 VAC when breaker off


Name:  phantom.jpg
Views: 35
Size:  28.3 KB

Inductive / capacitve coupling !
dmxtothemax is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to dmxtothemax For This Useful Post:
Know A Little (01-17-2014)
Old 01-17-2014, 06:14 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,745
Rewards Points: 606
Default

10 VAC when breaker off


Anyone else get the impression he's just swapping out outlets and not using GFI's to make it legal?
__________________
When posting in forums, letting us know your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
daveb1 (01-17-2014)
Old 01-17-2014, 08:11 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Virginia
Posts: 462
Rewards Points: 270
Default

10 VAC when breaker off


http://support.fluke.com/find-sales/...105317_a_w.pdf

Advertisement

Know A Little is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Breaker installed- Main Breaker trips novy31 Electrical 14 10-30-2013 09:08 AM
Separate 110 and 220 receptacles on 2-pole 220 V Square D GFI breaker sunrise Electrical 1 05-13-2012 08:27 PM
Outside breaker, inside main breaker panel, so is it a sub? CPF Electrical 29 02-01-2012 11:28 AM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 12:36 PM
Outdoor breaker panel questions lhoney2 Electrical 12 07-19-2007 06:44 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts