Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-29-2007, 11:22 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

10 gauge vs 12 gauge wire for 30 amp line


I am installing a new line for a 30 amp oven in my basement and I have been told by one store that I could use 12 gauge wire and the other store said that I need to use 10 gauge wire. Now that I am uncertain as to which gauge to use I need help with this matter. The run from the panel to the outlet will only be 25 feet if that matters.

Thanks

Kevin

hsdude1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2007, 06:23 AM   #2
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,686
Default

10 gauge vs 12 gauge wire for 30 amp line


#10.

Who told you #12 was OK for this circuit?

__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2007, 09:44 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Default

10 gauge vs 12 gauge wire for 30 amp line


Home Depot is the one who said I could use #12 for this circuit. Lowes said to use #10. Thanks for clearing this up for me.
hsdude1992 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2007, 10:19 AM   #4
Master Electrician
 
JohnJ0906's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 332
Default

10 gauge vs 12 gauge wire for 30 amp line


Quote:
Originally Posted by hsdude1992 View Post
Home Depot is the one who said I could use #12 for this circuit. Lowes said to use #10. Thanks for clearing this up for me.
#10!!!

I hate Home Depot!

http://www.contractortalk.com/showthread.php?t=23708
__________________
John from Baltimore
One Day at a Time
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"Experience is what you get when you were expecting something else"
"The bitterness of low quality lingers long after the sweetness of low cost is forgotten"
JohnJ0906 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2007, 01:28 PM   #5
Licensed Electrical Cont.
 
Speedy Petey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: NY State
Posts: 6,686
Default

10 gauge vs 12 gauge wire for 30 amp line


Quote:
Originally Posted by hsdude1992 View Post
Home Depot is the one who said I could use #12 for this circuit. Lowes said to use #10. Thanks for clearing this up for me.
To anyone going to this type of store for material:

DO NOT EVER listen to advice from clerks at these stores!!!

In fact, don't even ask them any questions.
__________________
Sometimes I feel like if I answer any more questions it is like someone trying to climb over a fence to jump off a bridge and me giving them a boost.
Answers based on the 2008 & 2011 NEC. If you're on the '14 already I feel sorry for you.
Speedy Petey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2007, 01:36 PM   #6
Home Improvement Guy
 
ron schenker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: ontario, canada
Posts: 351
Default

10 gauge vs 12 gauge wire for 30 amp line


Quote:
Originally Posted by Speedy Petey View Post
To anyone going to this type of store for material:

DO NOT EVER listen to advice from clerks at these stores!!!

In fact, don't even ask them any questions.
you got that right!

ron schenker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What do you use to reconnect a large gauge wire that was cut? bonedoc Electrical 9 08-10-2007 09:52 PM
Wire Size Help-400ft line to pond for fountain brownie47854 Electrical 14 04-22-2007 12:50 PM
Old house, new light fixture, too many wires Persephonee Electrical 3 01-15-2007 08:58 AM
how to run fridge water line under kitchen floor? travishume Plumbing 23 09-26-2006 07:51 AM
Does a 6 x 12ga wire nut exist? peeks Electrical 1 10-02-2005 09:58 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.