Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-01-2010, 05:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

10 gauge outdoor power line and security camera cable (not coaxial)


I am running 500' of 10 gauge power line (for future use) and 600' of security camera cable with 6 pin RJ11 jack and 600' of cat5 cable. I am going to bury. Question is can I run the power line in the same conduit/pvc as the cable lines? If not, can I place power line under conduit/pvc (direct bury)? Also, the security camera cable is two 300' cables connected with a coupler. I would like to place the coupler section inside an outdoor electric box and not bury in ground if this is waterproof enough. My husband wants me to use the 3M Scotchcast 82-A1 Inline Resin Splice kit and bury although my concern is taping and sealing the coupler and jacks enough so that the resin doesn't ruin them when poured into body mold. I have used these on underground electrical splices in the past and did have water get into one after about 3 months of them. Any suggestions? Thanks for your help.

vahlesm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 06:21 PM   #2
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,105
Default

10 gauge outdoor power line and security camera cable (not coaxial)


Answer is no, unless the LV (Low Voltage is controlling the higher voltage line. Read the NEC.

gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 06:30 PM   #3
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 1,142
Default

10 gauge outdoor power line and security camera cable (not coaxial)


Quote:
Originally Posted by gregzoll View Post
Answer is no, unless the LV (Low Voltage is controlling the higher voltage line. Read the NEC.

Most people on here are DIYer and do not have acess to a code book so they come here to find these type of answers.
darren is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 06:36 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
Default

10 gauge outdoor power line and security camera cable (not coaxial)


Gregzoll,

Thanks for comment. Wasn't sure what NEC is but found out and will read it. Darren: Thanks for diy comment. That is exactly why I came to this forum via another contractors website. Appreciate any help/comment offered.
vahlesm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2010, 11:30 PM   #5
Union Electrician
 
goose134's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Chicago, USA
Posts: 615
Default

10 gauge outdoor power line and security camera cable (not coaxial)


Run two conduits. If you think you MAY need things in the future, upsize that one.
goose134 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.