Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-27-2012, 09:25 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

10/3 wire to 6-20 receptacle


i have a 10/3 wire (red/black/white/ground) that is coming from my house breaker box - it was previously connected to my clothes dryer receptacle, which i don't need anymore. I want to re-purpose the circuit for a few tools that have NEMA 6-20 plugs. 6-20 receptacles have 2 hots and a ground - no neutral.

Can someone give me guidance as to what i should do with the neutral/white wire?

Do i need to do anything other than just terminate/cap the white at the receptacle?

mga56grg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 09:38 AM   #2
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Rewards Points: 1,000
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

10/3 wire to 6-20 receptacle


Just cap it off with a wire nut so it could be used if it's needed later for a dryer.

__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 12:14 PM   #3
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,835
Rewards Points: 2,464
Blog Entries: 4
Default

10/3 wire to 6-20 receptacle


Cap it off and change the breaker to a 20 amp breaker. You can't install 20 amp receptacles on a 30 amp circuit.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 12:30 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

10/3 wire to 6-20 receptacle


many thanks to you both. i will change the breaker

out of curiosity, if my loads max out at 20 amps, why would the 6-20 be a problem on a 30 breaker?
mga56grg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 02:52 PM   #5
Member
 
joed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Welland, Ontario
Posts: 7,835
Rewards Points: 2,464
Blog Entries: 4
Default

10/3 wire to 6-20 receptacle


Code requires a 30 amp circuit to have 30 amp receptacles. Receptacles must match the breaker except for 15 and 20 amp circuits under NEC. In Canada the even the 15 and 20 amp circuits must match the receptacles.
__________________
Do not PM with questions that can be asked in a forum. I will not respond.
joed is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
10/3, 6-20


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding GFCI receptacle outdoors Dale Gribble Electrical 2 03-21-2012 01:18 PM
Replacing receptacle with GFCI wiring problem braden Electrical 8 04-06-2011 08:32 AM
Central vacuum - how does the low voltage wire go into the low voltage receptacle? ILIFFE Electrical 4 09-29-2010 10:04 AM
Grounding Dryer Receptacle Montana Sailor Electrical 10 04-20-2010 07:43 PM
Dryer Grounding??? Traci_howdyadothat Electrical 7 05-27-2008 01:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.