Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-21-2011, 01:27 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pass Christian, MS
Posts: 66
Share |
Question

10-3 UF-B for 1 outlet use 200' from house.


I want to run a beer fridge in my tractor shed. I can afford 250" roll of 10-3 UF-B by southwire @ home depot. Could I tie that into an existing outdoor outlet at my house? I plan on burying the cable.

Joe Willie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 03:46 PM   #2
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,980
Default

10-3 UF-B for 1 outlet use 200' from house.


If you are running 120 volts for a single circuit you only need 2 conductor wire (plus ground). Be aware at that distance you will get some voltage drop when the refrigerator starts. You should be able to connect to the outside receptacle. If the outside receptacle is GFCI (and it should be), run of the load terminals and the minimum burial depth for UF cablewill be 12 inches.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina

Last edited by rjniles; 01-21-2011 at 05:28 PM.
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 10:37 PM   #3
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

10-3 UF-B for 1 outlet use 200' from house.


min burial depth for UF is 24" NEC 300.5
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2011, 10:46 PM   #4
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

10-3 UF-B for 1 outlet use 200' from house.


Minimum burial depth for uf cable 120 Volt circuits, 20 Amp or less with GFCI protection is 12" "Dwelling Unit" 300.5
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 12:55 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,240
Default

10-3 UF-B for 1 outlet use 200' from house.


Kitty,


He is going to run 10-3,which would be 240/120 requiring 18 " depth.
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2011, 08:17 AM   #6
Electrical Contractor
 
kbsparky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Delmarva
Posts: 3,368
Default

10-3 UF-B for 1 outlet use 200' from house.


Column 4 of table 300.5 does not depend on wire size. It is concerned with overcurrent protection values. Upsizing a 20 Amp circuit conductor to a #10 does not change the burial depth requirements.

The GFI protection must be installed at the source for the reduced trench depth, however.
__________________
-KB

Life is uncertain -- eat dessert first!!
kbsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2011, 04:44 AM   #7
Scared Electrician
 
Saturday Cowboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 715
Default

10-3 UF-B for 1 outlet use 200' from house.


Quote:
Originally Posted by kbsparky View Post
The GFI protection must be installed at the source for the reduced trench depth, however.
Thanks I forgot about that one
__________________
Ragged Trousered Philanthropist


Please follow the code - its there for your safety no matter how inconvenient.
Saturday Cowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 08:55 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pass Christian, MS
Posts: 66
Default

10-3 UF-B for 1 outlet use 200' from house.


I really appreciate the info. It would be a whole lot simpler for me to come from an existing outside outlet to run the fridge. If I need to run something else for a minute, I'll unplug the fridge. Do I need anything else? I figger I'm just relocating an outlet 200 feet away. Is that right? Is that the right sized wire? I found some 8-2 non-UF cable (2x 125' spools) at Home Depot for $108 each. The HD guy said I could run it in conduit with a Butt Splice and serve two 20 amp breakers...one for the fridge and one for lights and outlets. I have two empty breakers in my house breaker box, so I would have to start there...I know that is a whole new question and ball of wax. Any thoughts? Thanks again.
Joe Willie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 10:37 AM   #9
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,980
Default

10-3 UF-B for 1 outlet use 200' from house.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Willie View Post
I really appreciate the info. It would be a whole lot simpler for me to come from an existing outside outlet to run the fridge. If I need to run something else for a minute, I'll unplug the fridge. Do I need anything else? I figger I'm just relocating an outlet 200 feet away. Is that right? Is that the right sized wire? I found some 8-2 non-UF cable (2x 125' spools) at Home Depot for $108 each. The HD guy said I could run it in conduit with a Butt Splice and serve two 20 amp breakers...one for the fridge and one for lights and outlets. I have two empty breakers in my house breaker box, so I would have to start there...I know that is a whole new question and ball of wax. Any thoughts? Thanks again.
Yes, do not do it!

1 What do you mean by non-UF 8-2. If this means NM cable it is not for use in conduit or direct burial. For conuit you need individual conductors with THWN wire.

2. You are not allowed to splice cable in a conduit.

3. You are only allowed to run one circuit to an out building without installing a sub-panel. Yes I know about a MWBC but that is called one circuit and it cannot use 8-2 wire.

4. Stop asking for electrical advise at Home Depot and be careful of the advise you get here..
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina

Last edited by rjniles; 01-24-2011 at 10:39 AM. Reason: typo
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 01:29 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pass Christian, MS
Posts: 66
Default

10-3 UF-B for 1 outlet use 200' from house.


Not sure of the 8-2 question (it was 3 wires with a circular, loose, black, rubber wrap). Thanks for the info regarding circuits.
Now, I am back to the single circuit from existing outdoor double receptacle. Would the 10-2 run the fridge, a radio, and a couple of 60 w lights OK? What would I attach the third ground wire to at the tractor shed? This sounds to simple to be true.
Joe Willie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 02:18 PM   #11
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,980
Default

10-3 UF-B for 1 outlet use 200' from house.


Joe as I said in earlier post, with 10-2 UF at 200+ feet from the supply you will get some voltage drop when the fridge turns on. Will it work- sure. Can you run a radio and a few lights, again, yes but the lights will dim some when the fridge kicks in.

The bare ground wire connects to the ground terminal on the receptacle(s) you ar planning on installing. In the shed you will have to use 12-2 cable connected to the 10-2 coming from the house as the 10-2 does not work well with switches and receptacles. I would install a junction box where the 10-2 comes into the shed and then run 12-2 from there to the receptacles. Make sure that receptacle at the house you are starting from is on a 15 or 20 amp breaker- nothing bigger.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2011, 08:18 PM   #12
Electrical Supplier
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Dayton, OH
Posts: 205
Default

10-3 UF-B for 1 outlet use 200' from house.


Quote:
Originally Posted by rjniles View Post

4. Stop asking for electrical advise at Home Depot and be careful of the advise you get here..
Found the problem hurr......
__________________
"Do it right the first time and avoid duplication of effort"

Your AHJ/Inspectors ALWAYS have the final say on ANY electrical code issue.
If in doubt, contact a licensed, experienced, reputable electrician to perform the work.
LyonsElecSupply is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 06:30 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pass Christian, MS
Posts: 66
Default

10-3 UF-B for 1 outlet use 200' from house.


Would the 8-2 rather than 10-2 make any difference in voltage drop? Would I need another breaker in the shed? I would like to have 2 outlets. Like I said, the main thing is running the fridge and having some music on the radio during daylight. I have a great solar set up for night light inside and out and use cordless tools.
Joe Willie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 07:21 AM   #14
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,980
Default

10-3 UF-B for 1 outlet use 200' from house.


Yes the 8-2 would make a difference in the voltage drop, but it must be 8-2 UF or #8 THWN in conduit. No, you not need a breaker in the shed for a single circuit.

Joe,

We have been trying to help, but I think that your lack of experience calls for an electrician.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 08:04 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Pass Christian, MS
Posts: 66
Default

10-3 UF-B for 1 outlet use 200' from house.


RJ, You can believe I'm gonna have a real electrician look at it all before applying the juice... I just like learning new things and I am not rich. I started out requesting a quote for 6-3 UF and a dozen lights/receptacles...almost $5000. I'm a good carpenter and built the whole shed complex 1-24x12 shed on a slab and 3 attached 16x24 bays for 6K. That is why I'm doing the research and seeing what I can safely do myself before involving an electrician. I just want some cold beer and George Strait out in the shop away from the ball and chain.

Joe Willie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old House Rewire finnimus Electrical 15 05-13-2011 10:39 PM
Switched Outlet Issue mjm Electrical 11 01-23-2011 07:41 AM
Wiring Size Calculations for New Service CorinthWest Electrical 7 12-07-2010 11:36 AM
installing whole house filter on outside of house MikeInFL Plumbing 3 06-12-2010 04:47 PM
Outlet neutral bonded to ground? rjniles Electrical 1 07-19-2008 11:12 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.