Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-07-2013, 06:40 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

10/3 UF or 6/3 UF?


Hello, I am having electric ran to my shed from my house SEP. In the shed I plan on at most at once time running two portable heaters(2 x 1500w) an air compressor(1500w) a radio(10w) one power tool (100w) and some lighting.

I have heard so many different opinions from different people as to what uf cable I should purchase. Im not so concerned with price that when I fire up my planer my lights will dim while two heaters are keeping it warm and my air compressor happens to kick on.

The shed is a 12 X 16. Can somebody please shed some light on this. Some people say 6/3 is overkill while others say 10/3 is not enough.

Chow Ding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 06:56 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,341
Default

10/3 UF or 6/3 UF?


Think about it, if you try to get by with just 10-3 what do you do when it does not work out?
Cheaper to do it right the first time.
So what if you have more power then you need.

joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 07:01 PM   #3
MarginallyQualified
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Winston-Salem NC
Posts: 3,663
Default

10/3 UF or 6/3 UF?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Chow Ding View Post
I have heard so many different opinions...
Can somebody please shed some light on this.
The WORK involved is exactly the same.
The marginal difference in cost for the heavier wire will soon be forgotten.

That said... I'd suggest you use pipe and (#6) wire.
Even that add'l cost will soon be forgotten.
TarheelTerp is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to TarheelTerp For This Useful Post:
jbfan (03-07-2013), mpoulton (03-07-2013), NJMarine (03-08-2013)
Old 03-07-2013, 07:52 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 587
Default

10/3 UF or 6/3 UF?


Okay, what is SEP? I will wildly guess service entry panel?

Anyhow, you are using about 25a. Unless your shed is more than 250' from your panel, #10 is fine.
Toller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 07:58 PM   #5
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

10/3 UF or 6/3 UF?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Toller View Post
Okay, what is SEP? I will wildly guess service entry panel?

Anyhow, you are using about 25a. Unless your shed is more than 250' from your panel, #10 is fine.
Disagree...I don't know how anyone would say a 30A feeder would be enough knowing what is planned on being used.

Planer
Air Compressor
2 X 1500W heaters

With the heaters on, either one of the other two could trip the circuit at start up.

50A minimum, but I would recommend 60A
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 08:32 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 3
Default

10/3 UF or 6/3 UF?


Thank you all so much. I was preferring the #6 but my electrician friend has been insisting#10 will be fine. Just doesnt make sense to me.
Chow Ding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 10:03 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 587
Default

10/3 UF or 6/3 UF?


Quote:
Originally Posted by k_buz View Post
Disagree...I don't know how anyone would say a 30A feeder would be enough knowing what is planned on being used.

Planer
Air Compressor
2 X 1500W heaters

With the heaters on, either one of the other two could trip the circuit at start up.

50A minimum, but I would recommend 60A
He didn't mention a planer. His total came to about 20a, but since it was unbalanced I rounded up to 25a.
Toller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 10:09 PM   #8
Licensed Electrician
 
k_buz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 4,340
Default

10/3 UF or 6/3 UF?


Quote:
Im not so concerned with price that when I fire up my planer my lights will dim while two heaters are keeping it warm and my air compressor happens to kick on.
I knew I wasn't imagining it.
__________________
__________________________________________________ ______________
Answers based on the National Electric Code. Always check local amendments.


k_buz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2013, 11:17 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Posts: 174
Default

10/3 UF or 6/3 UF?


He also did not mention if these loads are 120 or 240 loads. If they are 120 loads they will be split between the phases.

I would always error on the side of the larger wire. As stated in an earlier post, the work is the same.
bcgfdc3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 12:48 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,794
Default

10/3 UF or 6/3 UF?


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
The WORK involved is exactly the same.
The marginal difference in cost for the heavier wire will soon be forgotten.

That said... I'd suggest you use pipe and (#6) wire.
Even that add'l cost will soon be forgotten.
__________________
____________
Vince
vsheetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 04:31 AM   #11
Electrician
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Oviedo, FL near Orlando
Posts: 227
Default

10/3 UF or 6/3 UF?


In general, for copper, the double pole breaker sizes at the SEP would be:
10/3 with ground UF or 4x#10 in pipe- 30A
8/3 w/ g UF - 40A
3x#8 w/ #10 ground, in pipe - 50A
6/3 w/ g UF - 60A
3x#6 w/ #10 ground, in pipe - 60A
3x#6 w/ #8 ground, in pipe - 70A
Assuming individual wires are rated THWN or better.
Glennsparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 05:20 AM   #12
Electrical Contractor
 
rrolleston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Granville, NY
Posts: 1,941
Send a message via AIM to rrolleston Send a message via Yahoo to rrolleston
Default

10/3 UF or 6/3 UF?


I would also use conduit. Much better in the long run. I have replaced many ufb installations. Even ones buried in sand. Somehow a rock always works its way to the wire and wears a hole in it.

Sent from my iPhone using DIY Forum
__________________
With Electricity there is the right way to do it and the dead way. Just because it works does not make it safe.
rrolleston is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 05:44 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Northern Indiana
Posts: 139
Default

10/3 UF or 6/3 UF?


Quote:
Originally Posted by TarheelTerp View Post
The WORK involved is exactly the same.
The marginal difference in cost for the heavier wire will soon be forgotten
Do the above without another thought. The fact that you have a planer, a compressor, and who knows what else, indicates that you need a SHOP, not an outbuilding. You will inevitably add bigger and better tools, get better heaters, or want A/C in the summer.

I have a fairly large shop, and I assure you I have never been sad that I didn't have to worry about running a bigger and badder tool! I have upgraded over the years from basically an empty room to a 7 1/2 HP compressor, two 250 amp MIG welders (50A each @240VAC), a 2 HP lathe, a 3 HP mill, and a new heavy duty planer that draws [I think] 16 amps @240 volts.

Do not skimp. Easy to have too much, not easy to have too little. And since you indicate that cost is secondary, always go as big as you can afford.

Nuff said.
al_smelter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 06:14 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,236
Default

10/3 UF or 6/3 UF?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Toller View Post
He didn't mention a planer. His total came to about 20a, but since it was unbalanced I rounded up to 25a.

Yes he did re read it.
__________________
No Warranty Means- If it breaks in half you get to keep both halves.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 03:32 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 190
Default

10/3 UF or 6/3 UF?


Just the fact he wants to run 2 heaters is enough to make an easy decision on going with #6 over #10. #10 only gives you a max of 30 amps as #6 gives you 60 amps. And you will be very surprised a few years down the road when you want to add even more tools and other uses of electricity to that building. Like others have sad... go bigger. You wont have to worry about not having enough power down the road.

Jason34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10/3 or 8/3 for generator AdamBNYC Electrical 3 12-03-2012 02:04 PM
conduit for 10/3 interior niche Steve Burke Electrical 4 01-29-2012 11:16 AM
Short ciruit with Romex 10/3 cable and cable connectors virago Electrical 21 10-07-2011 08:01 AM
Splitting 10/3 John J Oswald Electrical 4 05-24-2011 05:16 PM
20 amp breaker on 10/3 wire Duane 70 Electrical 6 09-16-2008 01:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.