Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > Electrical

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-10-2012, 10:31 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

10/3 to outside Generator Inlet


Hi Folks,

I know it's not best practice to run jacketed NMB cable in conduit. I plan to install a 30A generator inlet about 20 feet from the panel. The location of the inlet is such that I will come out above the sill plate (I have 18" high trusses so lots of room), and down the foundation about 6 feet (it's a walk out style).

Question: Is it acceptable to run the final six or so feet of 10/3 down the outside of the foundation to the inlet box using 3/4" rigid sched 40 conduit? Or do I need to run THHN in conduit all the way to the panel?

I'll staple the rest up inside the trusses once I am inside.

Cheers,

Jeff


Last edited by aquasport17; 09-10-2012 at 10:53 AM.
aquasport17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 10:56 AM   #2
Cruising into the sunset
 
JulieMor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Chicago area
Posts: 477
Rewards Points: 250
Default

10/3 to outside Generator Inlet


You can run the NMB inside the conduit.

JulieMor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:03 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,510
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

10/3 to outside Generator Inlet


You cannot run NMB inside conduit, outside.
J. V. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to J. V. For This Useful Post:
mpoulton (09-10-2012)
Old 09-10-2012, 11:06 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

10/3 to outside Generator Inlet


So I have conflicting answers.

NEC actually prohibits this? I didn't think that was the case - just thought it was not recommended. Figured with the short distance it wouldn't be an issue.

Would it be considered a "raceway" if the conduit was not terminated at the panel? I'm just trying to protect the wire outside for 6 feet.

Last edited by aquasport17; 09-10-2012 at 11:15 AM.
aquasport17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:45 AM   #5
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,926
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

10/3 to outside Generator Inlet


NMB can not be used in a wet location, and outside is a wet location.
You can use the conduit inside and go through the foundation into the inlet box.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 11:59 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

10/3 to outside Generator Inlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by J. V. View Post
You cannot run NMB inside conduit, outside.
Assuming I am not going to drill through the concrete wall - Is there another method?
aquasport17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 12:16 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

10/3 to outside Generator Inlet


I'll just pull four wet location suitable, 10 guage THHN conductors through the conduit to the panel. Any problem with that?
aquasport17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 12:22 PM   #8
Electrical Contractor
 
jbfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Newnan GA
Posts: 5,926
Rewards Points: 2,248
Default

10/3 to outside Generator Inlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by aquasport17 View Post
I'll just pull four wet location suitable, 10 guage THHN conductors through the conduit to the panel. Any problem with that?
Not as long as you use a junction box to transition from the nmb before going into the conduit, and use thwn/thhn, which most wire is dual rated today anyway.
Or you could use uf cable.
__________________
Yes I am a Pirate, 200 years too late. "Jimmy Buffett"
jbfan is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to jbfan For This Useful Post:
aquasport17 (09-10-2012)
Old 09-10-2012, 12:29 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 39
Rewards Points: 25
Default

10/3 to outside Generator Inlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by jbfan View Post
Not as long as you use a junction box to transition from the nmb before going into the conduit, and use thwn/thhn, which most wire is dual rated today anyway.
Or you could use uf cable.
Can I just run the UF-B right to the panel with no transition other than from the conduit (once it enters the house)? It's about 20 feet through the trusses. I'll staple it up and away.

Last edited by aquasport17; 09-10-2012 at 12:40 PM.
aquasport17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2012, 06:22 PM   #10
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 4,178
Rewards Points: 2,266
Default

10/3 to outside Generator Inlet


Quote:
Originally Posted by aquasport17 View Post
Can I just run the UF-B right to the panel with no transition other than from the conduit (once it enters the house)? It's about 20 feet through the trusses. I'll staple it up and away.

Yes you can.

__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
10/3 wire to 6-20 receptacle mga56grg Electrical 4 03-27-2012 03:52 PM
conduit for 10/3 interior niche Steve Burke Electrical 4 01-29-2012 12:16 PM
Short ciruit with Romex 10/3 cable and cable connectors virago Electrical 21 10-07-2011 09:01 AM
Splitting 10/3 John J Oswald Electrical 4 05-24-2011 06:16 PM
20 amp breaker on 10/3 wire Duane 70 Electrical 6 09-16-2008 02:02 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.